mama’s gonna cook

My mom got me a subscription to Cuisine at Home for Christmas.  I just got my first issue and have already made a couple of things.  What’s great about it is they show step by step pictures with the recipes.  That can be really helpful when trying a new recipe.  The first thing I made was the Chicken Pappardelle with Sun-Dried Tomatoes.  Yum!!  I didn’t think I liked sun-dried tomatoes, but I think I’ve only tried the kind that are dehydrated.  These were packed in olive oil and had a delicious smokey taste.  Anyway, here’s the recipe:  
 Chicken Pappardelle with Sun-dried Tomatoes
                 8 oz. dried pappardelle or fettucine              1 T. garlic, minced
                 2 strips thick-sliced bacon, diced                   1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes
                 1/3 C. sun-dried tomatoes, packed               1/2 C. dry white wine
                             in oil, drained, minced                          1 C. chicken broth
                 3 C. cooked chicken, large diced                     1/2 C. heavy cream 
Cook pasta in large pot of salted water according to package directions.  Drain (but don’t rinse) and set aside.
Saute  bacon and tomatoes in a large nonstick skillet over med-high heat until bacon browns, 3 minutes.  Add chicken, garlic, and pepper flakes, and cook for 1 more minute. 
Deglaze with wine, scraping bottom of skillet.  Stir in broth, cream, and pasta, and bring to a simmer.  Cook until sauce thickens slightly, about 3 min.  Season with salt and pepper.
                                                                                                          
P.S. If, and that’s a BIG IF, any of my lovely friends or family are checking in here at smoothpebble you can correspond with me via comments.  You just click on the little comment icon at the bottom of the entry and a screen will pop up.  Then just go from there – it links directly to my email.  I really hope to hear from some of you, and if you try the recipe let me know if you like it.                

One Comment Add yours

  1. MCM says:

    …don’t get excited its just me again…receipe sounds lovely. Tho’ I’m not sure I’m allowed to “deglaze with wine” in this corner of the county without a special permit…that or I’m certain the ladies at church will find out and discuss my impudent actions at the next Presbyterian Ladies Outing… 😉

Leave a Reply

