%#&!!*&$!!!!

It has been such smooth sailing around here that I have not had much need of cursing. Until today when I’ve been trying to upload pictures to flickr and it. is. not. working.  I had finished a couple more paper cuttings and I got a postcard assignment that I was going to share. Maybe another day.  The postcard assignment is from five and a half.  And I ran across this gorgeous bit of papercutting at skinny laminx, so you can go there for actual pictures.  If you stay here your only going to hear more whining and cursing.  It might be a carry over from last night when I made homemade, FROM SCRATCH, brownies, lovingly served on china plates and then got to hear the food critics of the Basham household make scathing comments about the above mentioned brownies.  “The cinammon is overpowering the chocolate Mom.”  “There isn’t enought frosting.”  “Seriously Mom the cinammon was a bad idea.”  “It tastes like it came from a box, only worse.” Okay those were the comments, but they each ate at least two servings.  Which reminds me; this was a conversation heard here about a week ago at 9:00 p.m. 

“I’m hungry!”

“Yea, so?”

“Can’t you just make a cake or something?”

As if I am the &%##!! kitchen fairy who magically makes sweet and savory deliciousness with the tap of my wand. Hah, this cooking thing takes blood, sweat, tears, oven burns, risk of finger loss from the big knife, etc. 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I started to say that next time you should just toss them some plastic wrapped DingDongs or something to show them a thing or two. Then it occurred to me that most kids would find DingDongs a perfectly acceptable alternative to homemade. Sorry.

  2. MCM says:

    Cinnamon? REALLY WHAT WERE YOU THINKING!…that’ll get you strung up in this corner of Lawrence county…but honestly, the “like a box but worse” bit made me spew coffee onto the monitor screen, not that you can tell as it is already covered with some as of yet unidentified scum like substance…Housekeeping 101 around here we are!

  3. Claudia says:

    Oh no…they didn’t say that! Not nice at all. The &%##!! kitchen fairy would never accept comments like that. I’m sure that the brownies were very good. I love cinammon.

  4. Aunt Kristi says:

    perhaps your brood is more into the chocolate and cayenne pepper brownies…..mmmmm yummy !@#%

  5. robyn says:

    “Can’t you just make a cake or something?” I love it! Possibly one of my most favorite quotes ever. 🙂

Leave a Reply

