Grandma Rosa Lee

1923 – 2008

Brian’s mother passed away on Sunday, March 2nd.  SAD, it’s the only word to describe how we are feeling right now.  As far as mothers-in-law go she was a gem.  We got along really well, and bonded over food and good humor.  I’ve been picturing her this week as the girl she used to be.  Riding her horse to round up the cows on the Kansas farm she grew up on.  She was one of four daughters, and she told me they had two dresses per year back then.  One for everyday school and one for church and dress up occasions.  My favorite story was when she told me that at Christmas they would get a bag of candy beans (jelly beans) and how exciting that was.  I just love those words – candy beans.  And the last year and half she was like a little girl again, in her tiny dollhouse of an apartment.  Surrounded by her favorite things; the daily newspaper, her remote, a cup of coffee, and a dish with candy beans and butter mints.  We will miss her very much.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Melinda says:

    hey Jackie, thinking of you all…hopefully the next few days, even though filled with loss, can also be a celebration her & the life that she lived & created for her family. Please let me know if you need anything.

  2. Hi, Jackie……I’m so sorry to hear of your Mother-in-law’s passing. I’m sure it was such a joy to her that she was so well loved by her son’s wife. My best to you and your’s. jan

  3. i’m sorry to hear about your loss. she sounds wonderful. my grandfather passed away last summer, and i still miss him dearly. but i’ll always have the stories and memories. hang onto yours tight.

  4. mom says:

    Hi Jackie and all- See you all tomorrow at Eureka. Thinking
    of you all, sure it has been a hard week. We’ll all miss
    Rosa Lee. Love Mom and Dad

  5. Claudia says:

    Hi Jackie,
    I’m very sorry to hear about your loss. I don’t really know what to say (feeling stupid right now) but I want you to know that I’m thinking of you during that difficult time.

  6. Aunt Kristi says:

    Jackie: Yes Rosie really did love her candy beans….I remember she would always get a bunch for our Easter candy every year, being careful to give each of us enough of them….missing her is sad….

Leave a Reply

