Information overload and a recipe.

Is it just me, or is anyone else feeling overwhelmed by information overload? 

1.  I have a stack of books waiting to be read, plus my sweet sister-in-law Katharine got me a 365 books page-a-day calendar with………..365 more book suggestions. 

2.  I’ve got several magazines piled up. 

3.  Perhaps you’ve noticed my links list, it grows longer everyday.  Plus for every link I have, each site has an exponentially expanding list of links.   And well, you know, I like to keep up with what’s going on out there in blog land.

4.  I’ve got three kids with appointments, practices, schedules – and so I have multiple lists and notebooks and calendars laying around, spilling over with information. 

5.  Then there is that whole Oscar’s list of good movies, plus my netflix queue runneth over.

6.  I’m trying to keep up with politics, and check out each candidate’s position on issues and their records. 

7.  And because I can’t control my impulses, and because the mobile swap was so much fun I signed up for two more creative endeavors.  Since misery loves company why don’t you consider signing up too.

    

You have until March 14th to sign up for Elizabeth’s swap. And the Art House Coop has a sketchbook project you can participate in as well.

I think I’ll go self-medicate myself with a bowl of comfort food. 

Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes & Cauliflower (A good way to sneak extra veggies in)

Boil:    1 lb. russet potatoes, peeled, cut into chunks

            1/2 lb. cauliflower florets

            4 garlic cloves, peeled

* Boil potatoes, cauliflower, and garlic in a pot of salted water until tender when pierced with a knife, 15-20 min.

*Drain, return vegetables to the pot, and cook over medium heat until excess water is evaporated, stirring constantly, about 1 minute.

Mash with:     1/3 C. buttermilk

                         3 T. butter

                          Salt and pepper to taste.

*Mash vegetables with warmed buttermilk and butter.

*Season with salt and pepper, garnish with chopped chives if you like.

Recipe from the February issue of Cuisine at Home.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. i do feel a bit overwhelmed! i don’t have children, but i do have a day job. i sometimes wonder if i had children how i’d find time for my “projects”, so i’m happy to read moms can do it! (even if it’s a little nutty.)

    have fun with your new swaps – they look fun. but i’m exhibiting restraint as i just don’t think i can find the time! 🙂

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I’m glad you’re doing the swap anyway!

    I just made up little cards with each of my unfinished and “concept” projects and tacked them up to my design wall . . . they go almost floor to ceiling on both sides! (That’s not including the pile of books on my nightstand and 100+ movies in my Netflix queue.) I guess my point is: You’re not the only one! 🙂

  3. You and I began blogging around the same time. I don’t know about you, but that’s when I started reading blogs too. This week I’ve been too busy to read my long list of favorites….except for a cherished few. And the backlog is stressing me out. Well, that and a messy classroom…and math….and taxes……..and “the man”…

  4. Boy howdy, do I hear ya on the overload thing. Sometimes I have to just evaluate what I really *need* and then take a deep breath and return/throw away/erase/delete the rest of it and start from scratch. I did that with just the unread posts on my Bloglines once and you know? The world didn’t end like I thought it might. And – what a feeling of relief.
    And that lunchbox swap? So tempting… Must.. restrain.. from clicking…

  5. rebecca says:

    Oh yes! I know exactly how you feel – books stacked up on every surface, articles in magazines and on blogs I’ve tagged ‘to read’ but haven’t got around to yet, projects stated and projects I want to start, blog posts to be written…. the list goes on and on 😉

    Great to see you have entered the Sketchbook Project too by the way! x

  6. rebecca says:

    …oh and loving the blog by the way! I’ve added you to my bloglines, so now there’s something else to keep me busy, busy!

  7. Anna Yamaura says:

    Hey I am not the shag on a rock or pebble on the beach. I too have similar problems but only one tin lid. Oh thanks for the mashed potato recipe… Now I have a new one and another vegie to hide. He he he. Oh I also signed up for the lunch box swap… You know what they say about great and simple minds…..

Leave a Reply

