furniture redo

I’ve got several pieces of furniture around the house that really need freshening up.  So I started a new group over at flickr.  People can post before and after pictures of their furniture redos.  I’m hoping to get inspired and it will motivate me to get my own projects posted.  The first furniture project I’m going to tackle is our kitchen table.  It has a tile top and the description of it is not for the faint of heart.  So skip over these next couple of sentences if you can’t handle it.  There are food particles filling the crevices where the grout has come out.  And these food particles are packed in there and may even be years months old.  Eeeeek!  Several of the tiles are cracked too.  So my big plan is to hammer the old tile out, leaving a ready made mold for (drum roll please) the concrete I’m going to fill it with.  I’ve seen concrete counter tops, so I think it will work in this application. 

 cracked and disgusting table top

Here it is in all of it’s hideous glory.  And here are more of our ripped, old, scratched and dented pieces of furniture.

another candidate

ripped upholstery

potential candidate

Apparently I have no shame, because I’m revealing the shabby conditions we  live in. 

So changing the subject entirely I’ve been tagged by Claudia to reveal a few things about myself.  Secret 4’s.

4 jobs I’ve had:  Busgirl at a restaraunt, A dibbler at a greenhouse (they are the people that take the seedlings and transplant them into larger pots.),  Accounts collector for a medical office (I hated making those phone calls), Stay at home mom (I promise Mom and Dad, I use my college degree all the time at this job.) 

4 favorite movies (I decided to share 4 favorite books):  A Prayer for Owen Meany, The Far Pavilions, Bel Canto, and The Moon by Whalelight.  And oh yeah, The River Why.  It’s hard for a bookworm to stick to a limit.

4 places I’ve been:  Bar Harbor, Maine; Banff, Canada; the Redwood Forest, California; Kaui, Hawaii.

4 places I’ve lived:  Kansas; Virginia, California, and here in Missouri.

4 favorite tv shows:  Lost; What Not to Wear; Myth Busters and Dirtiest Jobs (with the boys), and Super Nanny.

4 favorite radio programs:  NPR – Fresh Air; The Prarie Home Companion; Weekend Edition; Car Talk.

4 favorite foods:  Chocolate; Fresh bread; Blueberries; Anything from the garden.

And now I tag Snippety Gibbet, Oh Fransson, Painted Fish Studio, and Whole Cloth Designs.  They’ve become great blogging friends, and I’m curious to know more about them.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I can’t wait to see the concrete table! Have you studied up on it at all or are you just going to wing it? When I was in college we made concrete canoes and raced them. Amazing stuff, cement and aggregate.

  2. smoothpebble says:

    You should have put a pic of your old worn out spouse below these pictures.
    The above comment was added here by Brian, my old worn out spouse!
    Thanks for sharing honey.

    I’ve researched the concrete, and am using the book Concrete Countertops by Fu-Tung Cheng

  3. Anna Yamaura says:

    Can’t wait to see the makeovers but did a double take (and got a thrill) when I read that you loved the book The Far Pavillions too. One of these days I am going to go the places described in that book.

  4. Claudia says:

    Shabby chic…that is what you have to say 😉
    I can’t wait to see your projects.

  5. ooooo… have fun with the concrete! my friend’s husband made my concrete counter tops for me when i had my kitchen remodeled. i love them! he added a dark gray dye, so they look like slate, and then finished them with a wax finish.

    after 2 years they’ve held up to some good abuse, but do note that oil can stain: i have a few olive oil rings. it adds character…

Leave a Reply

