Happy Spring

Lately cooking has been such drudgery.  I think it’s because we’re between seasons, and heavy winter food doesn’t sound good.  And the abundance of summer is not fully available yet.   However, since I am the %&*!! kitchen fairy my peeps still expect me to put deliciousness on the table.  But, %&*!! kitchen fairies require inspiration.  Fortunately for me several copies of Gourmet magazine ended up in my hands, and fresh asparagus is available right now.  So I made this:

So light and green and spring tasting.  The filling in the ravioli is sublime, and somehow slightly sweet – maybe from the lemon zest.  You can find the recipe here.  I didn’t have access to mascarpone so I made it with ricotta.  And to save time I used wonton wrappers instead of making my own ravioli dough.  Super easy way to make ravioli.  It takes time to fill them all, but I thought the end result was worth it.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. oh, that looks so much yummier than the tomato soup i just had for lunch, which came out of a carton! i’ll be checking out that recipe…

  2. Melinda says:

    …would that anyone at my house (besides me) would eat such fare…So, I’m coming over for supper tonight, seriously, I’ll be there ~6pm…I’ll be the idiot in scrubs bearing wine & coffee

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Oh my gosh! That looks amazing.

  4. Hmmm…….I’ve never worked with won ton wrappers. I may have to give this a try, I get so dog goned tired of trying to figure out dinner every night. Inspiration usually comes in the form of “how easy is it?” or “is it foolproof?” I could try this one…….

  5. Anna Yamaura says:

    Oh %&*!! kitchen fairy, thanks for the heads up with the wonton wrappers for ravioli!! Getting fresh pasta in Singapore is like going on a treasure hunt and I LOATHE making fresh pasta. Now I can serve our fave dish. Hmmm a change in dinner plans me thinks….

  6. Holy cow, that looks amazing. Nice job!

  7. threesneakybugs says:

    Yummmm! I’ve just got to find a way to get my son to even TRY asparagus.

Leave a Reply

