PEACE

Do you ever come across an idea or phrase or word, and then the next thing you know it seems to pop up in various unrelated places?  I’m not talking about trends or the rapid speed at which blog things get passed around.  I’m talking about in an everyday life kind of way.  Well, I finally finished Nate’s duvet cover.  He requested that it be made from camouflage fabric because he is fascinated with things army related.  He frequently watches the history channel, he has oodles and oodles of army men, and books about war, and his grandpa was a helicopter pilot in the Vietnam War.  In fact one year he wore camouflage every day. Every. Day.  So, I agreed to make his cover with this fabric.

BUT, as his mother I felt compelled to put two peace signs on it.  I felt like it was a symbol that was necessary for some reason.  Not in a superstitious way, but in a way that mothers around the globe would understand.  In a way that a mother who has given birth or raised a child would never want that child in harms way or in the regrettable position of harming someone else. 

And now I come to the part of coming across this in a variety of places.  I did not realize that the peace symbol we are all familiar with is 50 years old this year, until I came across an article in the April 7th issue of Time.  

Gerald Holtom, a London textile designer, created it.  He was a conscientious objector during World War II.  It first debuted at an April 4th, 1958 demonstration against nuclear weapons in London’s Trafalgar Square.

And a few weeks ago  looking at some Nikki McClure artwork on-line I came across the Mother’s Day ProclamationMother’s day was originated by Julia Ward Howe after the Civil War as a call for women to unite against war.  We celebrate mothers on Mother’s Day, but that was not its origins. 

Then this past weekend I went with Everett’s confirmation class on a trip to St. Louis.  Our first stop Friday evening was at a Jewish synagogue.  We belong to the Methodist Church and most of us had never been to a Jewish service before.  The word shalom was mentioned several times during the service, and afterwards we got to get a close up look at the Torah which had survived the holocaust.

I know I’m not expressing eloquently what it is I’m feeling.  But I think I see that in every generation there are people who work for peace.  People who see that there is far more common ground between us all then there are differences.  And as long as there are people who do, there is hope.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. very powerful post, j. i think you expressed it wonderfully. i wish you and your family peace, forever and ever.

  2. Melinda says:

    okay dearie, just because I have time to call for idle chit chat whilst I am supposed to be working, it doesn’t mean I have time to get all teary eyed (smudging the over priced “nonsmudgable” eye pencil…:-)wonderful post, very well said.

  3. I am sure your son will appreciate the time you put into creating the duvet cover in the pattern he wanted and the additional mothering you provided by adding the peace signs. You are providing such a positive influence on him that will surely last way beyond his love of all things camo.

Leave a Reply

