Whew…..I got everyone fed.

On Wednesdays I’m head cook for a children’s program, and we feed about 60 people.  One Wednesday a month I’m in charge of the menu, shopping for the food, cooking and bossing around my assistant “chefs”.  My menu yesterday was cheesy broccoli soup (I try to fix good for you food, because…….well, just because.  I’m saving this particular soapbox for another post.), PB & J’s, grapes, and chocolate chip icecream.  Thankfully this program takes a break for summer vacation.  Sometimes it seems like that’s all I do – grocery shop and cook. 

Hey, how is everyone’s spring cleaning going?  I dream of having a sparkly, fresh smelling house, but instead find myself pondering that point when dust and grime could be referred to as patina.  So anyway, blah, blah, blah……  Here is macro shot #17.

Carpool Conversation:

Me asking the 2nd grader in my carpool, “How was your class play last night?”

The 2nd grader, “Well, I was kind of embarrassed, so I just kept looking down at the floor.”

Me assuming that he had forgotten his lines or tripped, “Why were you embarrassed?”

The 2nd grader, “Because my aunt that talks like a sailor and drinks too much was there!”

Alrighty then…….I couldn’t help laughing out loud, imagining the conversation he must have overheard his parents having.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. juliette says:

    very funny conversation indeed. reminds us to be real careful!

  2. I love that bracelet! So pretty!!!!

  3. Melinda says:

    honest, I wasn’t there!
    too funny!

  4. Well, I’m impressed that you can do that whole cooking for 60 thing. I just have no clue how you would even begin. Cooking for a dinner party with about 15 folks puts me over the edge.

  5. Anna Yamaura says:

    Classic little kid story. Wow cooking for 60 people (especially kids)!

  6. Amy says:

    Hee hee, patina! A new way to look at dirt, I love it : )

  7. Ellie says:

    Ha! I love second graders (got one myself). . .still pure kid, but with tiny sprinkles of “grown-up” on top. Great conversation.

  8. Claudia says:

    hahaha …so funny!

  9. spring cleaning?! that’ll happen if spring ever gets here…

    i love your photo, the clarity of the bracelet is so refreshing! and loved your story. someday i’ll be that poor kid’s aunt!

Leave a Reply

