A whole lot of cussing + Little Debbie snack cakes = this……

Yesterday I alluded to the fact that I ate a whole lot of junk food over tv free week.  I cussed like a sailor too, and maybe I should have taken up drinking as well!  Here is why……

 

I had to undo stitching several times, and the binding on top is all wonky with wrinkles and the stitching is all over the place.  Also my fabric choices were not the best.  For a project like this I think you need really tightly woven, durable fabrics.  Needless to say vintage feed sacks are rather loosely woven.  The whole thing may come apart after toting one peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  I do think it looks pretty, but if I weren’t sending it off to someone else I think I would embroider a cuss word on the bottom just to make me feel better.  I’m so immature!

This comic strip makes me feel better sometimes.

macro #29

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Melinda says:

    I can’t detect any wonkiness from here, its BEE-U-TEA-FUL !
    did the design modification work? or did it just succeed in further complicationg your life?

  2. jo-anne carter says:

    Well, wonky or not, I think this bag is beautiful.
    Love your blog.

  3. ellen kelley says:

    Wow, I think it looks beautiful. I do love the colors and embroidery.
    In the future, please note that I do enough swearing right here to take care of any needs you may have, or for that matter, the needs of many to “let fly” with the naughty words!
    p.s. As the mother of two boys (grown) I love hearing about your boys. I love little girls, but boys are something else, aren’t they? Mine, though with families of their own, still make my day and cause me to collapse with laughter at every turn.

  4. Erin says:

    Jackie,

    I love this and saw it on Oh Fransson, but don’t think that I could do it. Where did you get the pattern from? I might want to try it…all cussing aside! I love it and I think you did a fantastic job! Way to go girl!

  5. Claudia says:

    I also want to be immature! I would totally write a cuss word…so funny (and until 1 minute ago I didn’t know the word cuss…interesting…my english is getting better)!
    It’s a very pretty bag! You did a great job 🙂

  6. threesneakybugs says:

    Well from where I’m sitting it looks lovely and well made.

  7. Well, I don’t know how good of a therapist “Captain Morgan” or “Jim Beam” are but Little Debbie is AWFUL. Keep hanging out with her and you won’t be eatting mac and cheese for Mother’s Day either. I vote for good old fashion cussin’. Stitchin’ something naughty where it is barely visible is a hoot!

  8. Melinda says:

    …oooh, I’m thinking “Stitch Something Naughty Somewhere Mostly Hidden” sounds like a pretty nifty name for the next big swap…?
    whatcha think? who’s with me?…

  9. I love this little bag! The colors are great and the handstitching is my favorite.

    When I work on a sewing project with my machine, I am prone to cussing, too. Whoa, nothing gets me madder than having to rip out stitches!

  10. Anna Yamaura says:

    i like your bag! um maybe the wonkiness/errors are in the eyes of the maker??? your bag looks a good size and the embroidery detail. 😀 in australia i found chateux de cardbox was my drinkies of choice (cask wine, still don’t know? try wikipedia) but here it would be a large glass of merlot…. melinda’s swap idea sounds fab…. if you want to cuss on the bottom why not baka, japanese for idiot? not offensive to us but in japan to call someone a baka and if you want to pick a fight baka yaroo (i’m going to knock the stuffing out of you but add a few more colourful words too….)… just a thought….

  11. Erin says:

    O.kay…I know that the contest is over, and this is my 2nd comment on this posting…but you are so stinkin’ funny! 🙂 You make me laugh!! I love that you’re immature and that you aren’t afraid to get frustrated and post it on your blog. I’m glad that we’ve become friends. What is “Wonky” by the way? Just askin’?

  12. rebecca says:

    Hiya Jackie, the answer to your question is yes, you do have a full 365 days to do your bit once you’ve announced it on your blog! x

  13. Rachel says:

    I like the colors and the circle fabric!

  14. jackie: love the bag! i’d carry my lunch in it any day…

    melinda: yes! i have a certain fondness for the “f” word.

    :]

  15. Lil' d says:

    It looks beautiful. Well worth the uttering of many a swear word in the making.

Leave a Reply

