dirt, awesome dirt

If you want happy kids, mix together some nice spring weather, some cousins, and a dirt pile.  Oh, and to make Nate happy, throw in a winter cap with flaps! He even slept in it. Thanks Popop for the hat!!

This is what I made to send to Jan along with her winning quilt pieces.  I’m really enjoying making the papercuts.  I love the graphic quality of them.  Check out Jennylee Fowler’s amazing talent.  Her work is on my wish list.

And if you havn’t already planted your garden – leave room for lots of red peppers (the sweet kind).  So you can make this Roasted Red Pepper Soup.  The recipe follows.

 

Roasted Red Pepper Soup

8 red peppers, cut in half, seeds removed.

*Line a baking sheet with foil, and smash the pepper halves flat and place on baking sheet.  Broil until the skins are black and charred.  Using tongs place peppers in a pyrex container with a lid, and let steam for about 15-20 minutes.  Let them cool a bit and then peel the peppers (discard the peel).  Place peeled peppers in food processor and puree.

2 T. butter

1 large onion, chopped

1 med. carrot, sliced

1 T. tamari soy sauce

2 ripe tomatoes, or 14.5 oz. can of tomatoes

3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 tsp. honey

4-5 C. chicken broth

1 C. heavy cream

1 tsp. fresh lemon juice

2 T. cornstarch

*In a large stock pot, melt butter over med. heat, and saute the onion and carrot for about 5 min.  Add the garlic and saute another minute.  Stir in the soy sauce and cook for a couple of minutes.  Add the tomatoes, garlic and honey. 

*Add the chicken broth and the red pepper puree to the pot.  Bring to a boil, then turn down the heat and simmer for 20 minutes.  Measure 3 T. of the cream into a small bowl, reserve, and stir remaining cream into the soup.  Turn the heat to low.  Season with salt and pepper and the lemon juice.

*Dissolve the cornstarch in the reserved cream and stir into the soup.  It will thicken the soup almost immediately.  Cook, stirring for about 3 minutes.

The boys love this soup.  And it feeds my soul to know I’m filling their bodies with such goodness. 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I get the pod thing, quilt squares AND paper cutting???? Oh happy day! I DO love my mail man!!! Nice job on the snippery, Miss Jackie.

  2. ellen kelley says:

    Yum on the soup…double yum! And, yes I am acquainted with dirt and mud. How much fun is all of this mix? It’s great.

  3. the sucky thing about being a grown-up is not being able to enjoy a big dirt pile as much as you did when you were a kid.

    the soup recipe looks amazing, thanks for sharing!

  4. Christina says:

    How easily kids are entertained. I love roasted red pepper soup! I’ll have to add this recipe to my stash of recipes.

  5. Ellie says:

    That’s a great dirt pile!! I have also recently learned how to let my girls get absolutely stinking filthy and not care. Congratulations on your salsa victory. . .if this soup is indicative you’ve got skilz in the kitchen my dear Smooth. Cabin Girl.

  6. mom says:

    Hi Jackie, great pictures of the birds, what a sad tale. Plus
    great dirt pictures!!! I’ll show dad the picture of Nate and the
    hat!!! Thanks again for the nice card, I am a lucky Mom
    because I have two great kids that made my life a special one,
    looking forward to lots of years with all of you!!! Sounds like we
    may have rain here tonight. It’s very warm now and very windy.
    Forgot to tell you that I went to the local quilt shop for inspiration
    and bought a Fons and Porter “easy quilt” package with the
    fabric for the Gatsby quilt – neat fabric. They have another
    magazine called “Easy Quilts” ( I didn’t know about that)
    so th pattern was in last month’s magazine and I had to
    order the mag. on line. So I am looking forward to that and
    we have a “pig Project” to do before our Nov. meeting
    at quilt guild. We each put three fat quarters in a bag and
    exchanged bags. Now we have to make a project for that
    person. So I have that all pieced, just need to quilt it. So
    if feels good to be inspired!!! TAlk to you later. Mom

Leave a Reply

