Romeo and Juliette of the bird world

These poor birds were lying in our driveway in this exact position, and I could only think it was a tragic double suicide because their families would never have allowed the romance much less the marriage.  Sorry if you have an aversion to dead wildlife, but I just couldn’t pass up the classic romantic tale represented here. 

Ever since the macro challenge, I find myself looking around my world in a whole different way.  When I started thinking about what might make a good picture it’s as if my eyes became open.  I started seeing details never noticed before, or the way things look next to one another, and seeing colors, shapes, textures, light in whole different way.  So now I try to remember to take my camera with me everywhere.  I was able to catch these storefront windows with their colorful spring displays.

 

Also wanted to let you know that if you have been bitten by the mushroom love bug go here for a fun swap.  And I didn’t have time to let you know about this swap in this group because of the quick turn around.  But it’s so fun and quick working on these Artist Trading Cards (ATC) that I may organize a swap in a few months.  It’s a great way to use up small pieces of fabric.

p.s.  Hi five green acres, I havn’t forgotten the meme, it’s just part of my ADD and my inability to stay focused on any one thing.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessie says:

    I felt the same way about seeing things differently after I took a photography class a few years ago.
    And, oh those poor star-crossed bird lovers! It does look so tragic.

  2. Melinda says:

    tragic double suicide my foot…gnarly avian bird flu weirdness more likely…be afraid, be very afraid!
    love the store windows, where were these beauties sighted? me thinks some hardware stock clerk secretly yearns for a career in art…or at least worships (with a little “w”) the paint chip aisle like a few others I know…;-)

  3. Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. What a great post! Poetic and tragic and clever and visually stunning all at once.

    Thanks for the shout-out about the meme. It took me AGES to respond after I was tagged, so don’t sweat it!
    Mary Jo

  4. threesneakybugs says:

    How totally bizarre about the birds. I mean, what are the odds? Love your interpretation.

    As for viewing the world through the eye of a photographer I’m right there with you. That macro challenge really opened me up to taking a 2nd look at the world around me.

  5. Ellie says:

    I’d like to say “ditto” to fivegreenacres comments regarding the bird post. Clever, clever.

  6. Anna Y says:

    jackie,

    i love your spin on why two sweet looking birds met such a trageic end. aversion to dead wildlife?? nah. i drove on a highway in the middle of nowhere where it was road kill central. they were more hazards than gross in the end.

    have been admiring that great window display on flickr. what is it with me and colourful plastic (if it was glass, even better)?? agree with melinda about a frustrated artist.

    looks like we are ‘shrooming together and thanks for the handwork swap info (yes i have been known to do a bit of handwork….)

  7. Wow, that bird thing is really cool. What a story you put together with it. I really wonder what in the world happened before you arrived. Certainly, the only possible, rational conclusion must be the one you came up with. I just don’t even want to venture anything els.e

  8. Amy says:

    Oh geeze, yep, you had to take that picture. Words sometimes can’t convey…. I have never made an ATC but I would defintiely be up for a swap, sounds fun!

  9. batspit says:

    I’ve been trying to think of a clever comment to leave since I spotted your tragi-comedy photo on flickr, but nothing comes even close to your title.

Leave a Reply

