Toadstool swap

Mushroom photo for The Food Group.  This is the real thing.  Below is the creative interpretation of a mushroom that arrived yesterday in my mail box!  It is from Kitschy in the UK.  I love it and honestly it is one of my favorites from the Toadstool Swap group.  You can tell just by looking at it that a little gnome lives in there.  After all how could he resist.  She also made a little watercolor toadstool magnet for my fridge. 

I just finished mine and sent it in the mail today.  Yea, it was supposed to be mailed out on June 10th.  I suck!!  If this were a job, my performance review would be very sad.  It would probably say something like; she’s very earnest about what she does but the path to the flaming pits of h-e-double hockey sticks is paved with good intentions!  So anyway, I just want to publicly say to those of you who make 3 dimensional stitching projects – your talent is enviable.  After this I’m sticking to 2 dimensional things and papercutting.  And do you see the little animal by the mushroom.  Well, it’s not a hairy cockroach or a mouse without ears and tail.  It is a hedgehog.

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Melinda says:

    what if I was really hoping for a hairy cockroach?…j
    you know this IS FREAKIN ADORABLE!!! seriously, great work, and agian makes me rethink my minimalist approach…

  2. applecyder says:

    Both toadstools are great. Love the door on the first one, and love the stem on yours–and the h.hog. Very very cute.

    I am with you on the 3D thing. No more of that nonsense for me. My toadie still hasnt been sent bc I cant get it to stand on its own.

  3. Lil' d says:

    Those toadstools are both adorable! Sorry, I did crack up when you said hairy cockroach. But really, great job. It would be worth waiting a couple of extra days for…

  4. Hairy cockroach………hehehehehehehe… I knew immediately what it was. I love the stitching on the stem of the toadstool.

  5. Rachel says:

    I love the little door on the toadstool! Very creative!

  6. ellen kelley says:

    I am laughing out loud! These are both so fantastic. Having grown up in the, or at least one of the Roach capitals of the world ,(Hawaii) I can tell you that this does not look like one. It looks like and adorable heggie. And I do love your job evaluation. It’s mine too.

  7. Anna Y says:

    loving your shrooms. one will be honest and say i haven’t finished mine either….

  8. rebecca says:

    These are all lovely! I knew he was a little hedgehog – I could tell immediately!

    Hawaii, wow, now that is a proper summer holiday destination! I bet you are so excited! I’d love to get the chance to go one day…. 🙂

    Training for the half marathon is going well actually, thank you for asking. We are doing 3 – 4 days a week at the moment, but it’s proving difficult to find the time (end up in bed absolutely exhausted most nights). Also, we’ll have to keep it up in Italy too – so a few early morning starts I imagine. All fun though!

  9. I hope you guys are a safe distance from all the flooding out there.

  10. Lori D. says:

    Are you sure you want to give up on the 3D stuff? That toad stool is wonderful!

  11. eh, you still follow through, so i probably wouldn’t fire you! 🙂 i love your little hedgehog. have a great weekend jackie!

  12. Claudia says:

    holy shit…oups sorry about that…but it is SO beautiful!
    Have a lovely weekend xox

  13. Ellie says:

    these toadstools are marvelous. what a fun swap!! I also reeeaaaallllly admire your bird-in-cage ATC. You do beautiful work.

  14. threesneakybugs says:

    You did a great job! Much better than my boring one that I haven’t posted about yet and that was also late. Also – love your Fairytale ATC!

Leave a Reply

