my caboose grows ever wider….

as I sit in the bleachers and in the van!  This was a weekend of sitting, sitting, and more sitting.  Friday I drove Marshall and four other boys to basketball camp at KU. (Rock Chalk Jayhawk, Go KU!!)  This may sound like some form of exotic torture, but I truly enjoyed the trip.  They are a great group of boys.  We stopped on the way to have lunch, and while we were sitting there eating a gentleman came up to our table and commended the boys on being in such good physical shape.  He just kept saying over and over how nice it was to see some young people who were obviously active and lean.  This was said to the boys as their plates were overflowing from the Chinese buffet! 

As I waited for them to register and then gather their things for the dorm I felt that I was mom to them all.  And so I was delighted when every single one of them gave me a hug goodbye!

Then on Saturday we spent all day at the baseball fields.  All. Day.  Six games between Everett and Nate. 

This is what I did between innings.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. what a fun, but hectic, weekend!

  2. ellen kelley says:

    Awww..what a wonderful day. This makes me very nostalgic.
    Sweet, sweet young men.
    p.s. and yes, will wonders never cease? !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Behold the power of that little exclamatory mark. How I missed him. Thanks for the nice comments and visit.

  3. Sounds like a fun trip. Do you feel almost empty nested?

  4. apple cyder says:

    Oh, that’s so nice that you had fun carting the guys to camp. Sounds like a great group.

    Pretty toes!

  5. Erin says:

    Sounds like you had fun with the first set of boys…and a nice time enjoying America’s Pastime too! I love the Green Barn in the one picture!

  6. I, too, have a chronic case of “bleacher butt”. Now that I am on the last child participating in organized sports, I see relief on the horizon! (4 years left…) I also remember the days of endless baseball games. Both our sons played for years and we sat through many a double header. Those were the years I had the best tan! 🙂 It’s so great to watch them be active and invloved.

    Thanks for your recent comment!

  7. Anna Y says:

    Hope you are slip slop slapping Miss J, while sitting on those bleachers, says this sunphobic. Lovely toes, looked at mine felt ashamed, cut them then commented. Thank you for the trip down teacher memory lane about one memorable mini bus trip with a load of young gents. 😀 Lousy music taste but great company. My parents had picnic blanket butts courtesy of my brother and cricket and from me, driving fatigue to and from swim meets. ;D

Leave a Reply

