Doing the math

I’ve have been visiting our local thrift store, and greedily gathering all of the vintage sheets, curtains and pillow cases for Elizabeth’s vintage sheet swap.  These are my contributions.  All together I sent off 79 fat quarters, and in exchange I get 75 different fat quarters back.  Here is where the math comes in.  Last week at my favorite fabric store I paid $2.75/per fat quarter.  Adding up to $22.00 plus some tax for 8 fat quarters.  My thrift purchases added up to $11.00.  From that I got 79 fat quarters plus extra material.  I paid $19.60 in postage to and from Elizabeth.  So, for the vintage material that adds up to $30.60.  Now $30.60 divided by 79 fat quarters = 39 cents per fat quarter.  39 cents!! 

Even if you missed this swap you can still check out some of the project ideas on Elizabeth’s blog to use vintage fabrics and/or fat quarters.  And tomorrow is the sign up for Scent of Water’s photo swap. (flickr is having some issues right now I’ll try to link later today)  If I don’t see some of your names signed up I will personally hunt you down and nag you until you do!  That’s not a promise that’s a guarantee!  What I meant to say is that’s not a threat that’s a promise.  And you can stop snickering just because you know I’m harmless.  I’m trying to maintain the facade around here that I rule with an iron fist!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. i’ve been seeing a lot of posts about the vintage sheet swap. i’d like to know what you’ll be doing with your booty!

  2. Rachel says:

    39 cents? It doesn’t get much better than that!

  3. Ellie says:

    I am so sad that I missed out on this swap. (especially considering that I just thrifted sheets last week too – Ack!) Elizabeth must be one amazing gal to get all these quarters organized and distributed. What will you do with the ones you receive?
    Cabin Girl

  4. mayaluna says:

    You thrifted some might fine sheets! Can’t wait to see what you receive and than what it becomes.

  5. Anna Y says:

    I have been watching this swap with much interest. Seeing that thrifting is impossible here (thrift shop virtually doesn’t exist), I decided to watch and drool instead. 😀

  6. Nice vintage finds!!! I can’t wait to see what you end up with and what you do with them!

  7. Nancy says:

    Great finds!!

  8. Martha says:

    Great math!
    Vintage sheets, those look worth pursuing!
    I look forward to seeing the projects made with these fun fat quarters!

  9. threesneakybugs says:

    Somehow I don’t believe you but I did sign up for Scent of Water’s photo swap. I certainly wouldn’t want to incur your wrath. Do you know how many photos we’re expected to mail out?

    Also, those are some mighty fine sheet finds!

Leave a Reply

