parenting is hard work

This boy.  The one we call our “diamond in the rough”.  Whose nervous system takes a while to catch up with his physical growth.  Causing him to fall out of chairs for no apparent reason and to trip over his own feet like an exuberant puppy.  Who always gives 100% and gets the job done immediately, whether it’s sports, school or chores.  The one that would have been completely at home during the pioneer days – working hard and playing hard.  Running in the woods, and catching critters, hunting and fishing.  And the one who has an ornery streak a mile wide.  The one that I have to make write a note of apology.  The one who sneaked up to the party and shot off firecrackers.  This boy that was asked to call his mother and leave the party immediately.  Requiring that his mother call the other mother and mend some fences.  This boy!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Melinda says:

    well now, that sounds like a lively night of parenting…

  2. Bless your heart. And his. I’m glad you can still see the goodness through the…….. shall we say…….difficult times. Parenting is never dull, that’s for sure.

  3. applecyder says:

    ay yi yi. that sounds rough. but i love that he’s like a little pioneer. its great that you can see the good when something not so good just happened. btw, i think this is probably how my mother in law would have described my husband at your sons age….

  4. hmmmmm… he and i share some personality quirks. and clumsiness!

  5. Patricia says:

    It probably seemed like a good idea at the time . . . .

  6. Nancy says:

    I’m sorry that happened. Everybody’s got a glitch on their slate–who’s squeaky clean? Probably sounded like a good joke that
    went south.

  7. Amy says:

    Sounds like the kind of boy I would have dated in high school ; )

  8. Anna Y says:

    One hopes that sins of the mother are not repeated by the daughter. Luckily fireworks were/are illegal in Australia (otherwise, that probably would have been me), but I did my fair share of giving my mum grey hairs until I hit my teens (went all quite and subversive). My brother was no better. Donnie can’t wait for karma to come smack me fair and square in the face…

  9. Lil' d says:

    My husband did some awful things as a kid. I think I’d have disowned my brothers if they had done some of the things he did. He still managed to charm everyone into forgiving him, though.

    What’s really surprising is that he has grown up into a respected member of the community with a job that has a lot of responsibilty. I just wish his parents hadn’t cursed him with ‘I hope your kids are just like you’… I was a good kid, why do I have to suffer???

  10. ellen kelley says:

    Oh and awww…he may have lived here in a former life.
    I know that you know that he is a good and loving person. Judgment is in its infancy with young boys. Hang in there. All will be just fine.

  11. mayaluna says:

    You definitely are getting the award for “Mothering Boys with Compassion”! It’s so much harder than they say!

  12. batspit says:

    was it hard not to laugh and smile? I bet it was.

Leave a Reply

