Progress report

So, I’ve been attempting the summer resolutions.  I was determined to not show my face around here unless I had some progress to show.  And I’m using you as incentive to get things done.   I’ve set a date with y’all for Friday.  I’m checking in on everyone!  I’d do it tomorrow, but a certain someone is turning 10, and I’ve promised him the stars and the moon!  

My peeps are not really sure I can pull off the plan to put concrete on the kitchen table in place of the tile and food residue we chipped out.  And so far they seem to be right!  My first clue, that my plan may have been incredibly miscalculated, should have been when the boys and I spent more than an hour knocking out tile, only to realize that all I had to do was unscrew the table top from underneath and the whole thing would have popped out.   And rather than draw the whole sorry tale out, I’ll just tell you that I am now on plan B.  This was decided when 30 lbs. of concrete was not enough to fill the mold I made Brian made.  Surely, failed attempts count as some kind of progress – at least you know what won’t work.  So, after working so hard I ended up scooping out the whole mess to rethink the situation.  But I do not give up easily! 

The mold.

The mixing, and I’m pretty sure this is going to end up not being the right stuff!  Thus the multiple trips to the hardware store that I feared.

The crap I ended up scraping out, because I need a shallower mold.

Here, see something I’ve had far more success with  –  felt cuffs.  The incentive thing is working.  I love you people! 

I’m not too sure about the spider web/dewdrop one, but it is still a work in progress.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I love how your crew is all behind you on this project. Everyone seems to be pitching in. They must really love their Mama/Wife. Can’t wait to get back home again on Sunday to see if you’ve dared to post your updates….your progress.

  2. threesneakybugs says:

    Looking good! I sure hope one of those cuffs is for me as they all rock.

    As for the counter let me know if you need pointers. Our kitchen counter is poured concrete that my husband did. I can point you in the right direction of books and materials if what you’ve done so far doesn’t work out. It is a learning process, I remember that.

  3. Erin says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! Are you still saying your MANTRA? lol? I’m saying mine!

  4. i love the cuffs! and your new pool banner, it’s so summery.

    definitely take anna up on her offer to provide pointers. her husband also made my concrete kitchen counters, and they’re amazing.

  5. ellen kelley says:

    You are a very brave woman! Hurray for progress, even though it may seem like two steps forward and one step back.
    I love your cuffs. (May I be permitted to refer to them as, “cuvs”? I just love that made up word. It’s so cozy to me.) Anyway..they are just gorgeous!

  6. Rachel says:

    I like the rain drop cuff – the beads are a great detail!

  7. Anna Y says:

    Funny I like the spider web cuff the best (though it might be something to do with the fact we sing incy wincy hundreds of times a day around here….). Good luck with the table. You will crack it and when you do, I promise to keep my cyber mitts off it. You worked toooooo hard on it for me to ‘claim’ it.

Leave a Reply

