The following recipe may save your life!

Have you ever seen those lists of super foods?  You know, the foods that are going to make you the healthiest person on earth if you eat them.  The foods that should have little super hero masks and capes on them.  Well, the following recipe contains three super foods – blueberries (that mighty power house of antioxidants), oatmeal (the cholesterol busting super grain), and walnuts (small but powerful container of heart healthy omega fats).  So if you make the recipe and get a good health report at your next doctor’s appointment be sure to give me the credit.  We’ll just overlook the fact that the recipe contains plenty of butter and sugar.  Although lately I’ve been reading about the oleic acids found in real butter. 

Blueberry Oat Bars

  • 1 3/4 C. Oats
  • 1 1/2 C. flour (you could probably make half of this wheat flour)
  • 3/4 C. brown sugar
  • 1/2 C. chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 C. melted butter
  • 3 C. blueberries (if you don’t have fresh you can use frozen)
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 3 T. water (divided)
  • 2 T. cornstarch
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice

Combine oats, flour, brown sugar, nuts, soda, and salt.  Add melted butter and mix until crumbly.  Set aside 1 C. of this mixture.  Press remaining crumb mixture into bottom of 11x 7 baking dish.  Bake for 10 minutes at 350.

Combine blueberries, sugar and 2 T. of water.  Bring to a boil and simmer, uncovered for 2 minutes.  Combine 1 T. water, cornstarch, and lemon juice, mix well.  Gradually stir into blueberries.  Cook until thickened.  Spread this over the partially cooked mixture in the baking dish.  Sprinkle reserved cup of crumb mixture on top.  Bake for 20 more minutes or until golden brown.

My good friend Shawn’s grandma June shared this recipe with me.  And you know if someone’s grandma gives you a recipe it’s got to be good.

Here’s a little papercut to go with your Blueberry Oat Bar and iced coffee.  Stefani at Blue Yonder graciously gave me permission to use this photo to make the papercut from.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Anna Y says:

    Massive cyber hugs to you, Jakie!! 😀 I am hosting a playgroup session at home for 10 mums and nearly 20 under 4s and I was sooooo looking for a recipe like this. 😀 You have just made my evening.

  2. Kajsa says:

    Yummy! The kids have been picking tiny wild blueberries today that I put in some cupcakes I baked today, next time I will try your recipe for sure!

    Thanks for your well spoken words on my blog!

  3. oh thank you. i’ve been abusing my body for weeks. too many drinks, too many ciggies. but now i’ll make up for it all with your wonderful bars! 🙂

    the papercut is really great. you’ve got mad skillz!

  4. ellen kelley says:

    This sounds absolutely YUM….little fairy wands of good health included, a Kevlar shield and perhaps some salmon.
    Seriously!!! I will try this. I love blueberries, oatmeal and everything else that is in this. Thank you.
    As to the butter, I am probably misquoting one of my favorite persons, but here goes: “If you are afraid of butter, try cream.”…Julia Child.
    I think that life is really “watered down” when we become so afraid to eat some things. Of course, some of those things should be consumed in moderation…like pork fat (have you noticed that pork is so lean now that it is like eating cardboard?), cracklings on a really good ham (are there any really good hams in this country?) and yums of all yums, Yorkshire pudding cooked in the drippings from a truly excellent and decadent roast?
    Best stop, I am drooling on the keyboard and am very close to writing the word: S P A M.

  5. MCM says:

    oh my freakin gosh!
    that paper cut is AMAZING!(the photo is to die for also)
    yeah, yeah, yeah, you know I can’t be bothered to ACTUALLY cook for my familia…that would be WAY to nurturing of me, ruin my image and all…but if I were to be inspired to bake (in this heat and humidity…??%$&#) this would be the ticket! thanks for sharing…now I’m going to go back and stare at that papercut a little more… ooooooh, awwwwww

  6. Patricia says:

    smoothpebble, your cutting is amazing!! What is the paper you used? It looks really fine and sturdy at the same time. I was doing some cutting last night and darn it if I didn’t keep cutting out the positive space instead of the negative space!

    Can’t wait to try your bleuberry when our season kicks in soon. It looks perfect.

  7. Lil' d says:

    I love that paper cut. Really love it.

    I don’t suppose that chocolate makes the super foods list, does it?

  8. Amy says:

    I love this papercut! And how clever you are to see this from a photograph : )

Leave a Reply

