Heartbroken

No pictures just words.  Yesterday made me so sad I’m still weepy.  Nate celebrated his 10th birthday on Thursday and we had such a fantastic day, but yesterday’s sadness still lingers.  We gave Nate money so that he could pick out his own mouse/rat at the pet store.  He pestered me all yesterday morning.  “Can we go now?”  “When can we go?”  “Can’t you save the chores till after we go to the pet store, Please?”  And go we did.  He picked out just the right accessories for Nibbles, as she was soon to be known – the perfect food bowl, the perfect chew log, a tight fitting lid and a water bottle.  Then he picked out a light grey, little gal with a white belly and little white spots behind her ears.  And we took her home.  And you could tell she was going to be a good one.  She wasn’t skittish at all.  Didn’t run and hide in her chew log, just sat at the bottom of the aquarium sniffing our fingers and taking it all in, even letting us pick her up without running to the other side of her home.  Marshall thought he would introduce Tiger, his rat, to her.  And he put Tiger in the aquarium with Nibbles.  At first they just kind of sniffed each other, and Nibbles was still being as calm as can be.  And here is where I can hardly finish the story because it was SO horribly awful.  For some unknown reason Tiger attacked Nibbles and killed her as Marshall, Nate and I watched with utter horror and helplessness.  Sadness to see my 10 year old devastated.  Sadness to see my 15 year old near tears for the rest of the day.  Sadness that our relationship with Tiger is tainted by a response, that for her was purely instinctual.  Sadness to know that Nibbles the Second does not have the personality that Nibbles the First had.  And sadness that as mom I can’t fix it or make it better.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. batspit says:

    I’m sorry Jackie, that just sucks. Give everybody hugs for me.

  2. Oh, Jackie…how horrifying! I am so sorry. My Mark saw a dog attack like that once…it is so devastating. I sincerely hope that, as time goes on, the sting of this experience will lessen.
    Sending hugs all round….

  3. MCM says:

    so, we’re all feeling very sad for your household now, and seriously, (yes, seriously) I feel I should come by with a casserole or something!
    (I cried for days when my pet mouse died, and that was believed to have been from natural causes while we were away at the holidays)
    sad for your little men, and mostly sad for you, the”not being able to fix it” thing is the worst.

  4. MCM says:

    okay, just to verify, I was ten when I had the pet mouse…he was white with grey spots, name of “Sebastian”, my uncle stole him from the U of Missouri animal research lab when he worked (this is the family myth at least)and gave him to me for Xmas…best. Chrismas. ever. That’s the same year I got rainbow toe socks, stilts my Dad made me, and my Raggedy Ann, made by my Mom…not sure where all that came from, perhaps levity? Or maybe I think if you got everyone some rainbow toesocks they would all magiclly feel better?…

  5. Patricia says:

    OK, I can’t even express how sad I feel for all of you. Hope things will look sunnier tomorrow.

  6. Anna Y says:

    Oh how awful!! Can’t imagine the heartache. Hoping today is a better day and the start of a bloody marvellous week.

  7. Aunt Kristi says:

    That is just horrifying….I am sad for all of you….sad…life throws us punches we never know why, but learn to deal with them and be stronger from them sometimes…hopefully so, anyway…

  8. Nancy says:

    Yikes, I’m very sorry.

  9. How AWFUL!! That is one story that will, unfortunately, live on in family lore forever. Wow…….

  10. oh man, that is really, really sad. i’m so sorry, and sorry that the boys had to witness that. i hope that as the days pass the ickiness will lessen…

  11. Rachel says:

    I don’t know what to say except that I’m so sorry!

  12. Claudia says:

    Oh no, that is horrible! I don’t know what to say. I’m so sorry.
    My mom had a situation like that when the school hamster killed all the babies in front of all the kids! My mom was totally freaked out…and the kids were crying non stop! Well, not much to add there!

  13. Ellie says:

    Smooth,
    As a mother, I can only imagine how hard it must be to watch the boys be hurt. I’ll be thinking of you and hoping the heartbrokenness passes soon.
    Cabin Girl

  14. mayaluna says:

    Oh Jackie, I’m so sorry for your whole family. We can’t fix everything, even if we so badly want to. I know all of that love you pour into your boys will see you through this hard time.
    Hugs

  15. Diana says:

    Good heavens, Jackie, that’s a really sad story. Nothing hurts like losing a pet no matter how long or short you’ve had it.

  16. applecyder says:

    Yikes. The second you mentioned introducing the second pet to the new pet, I knew how the story would end. That is awful. I am sorry.

  17. oh, how awful for your children. this is, unfortunately something that does happen with animals. i remember when i was younger we had 2 rabbits, they had babies and the male rabbit started killing the young. i think my parents managed to save 1 or 2 from the hutch, we ended up splitting them all up. we kept the female and got a guinea pig to keep her company. they lived quite happily together.

Leave a Reply

