Motion Pictures

So, taking motion pictures for the photo swap is a little more difficult than it sounds.  These are a few of my keepers, but I’ve rejected dozens of others.  You might have noticed too that I joined Shutter Sisters.  And it’s hard not to compare and hyper criticize my own attempts when I look at the incredible photos there.   But challenging things can make us grow and stretch and learn, so I’m trying to focus (get it….. focus) on that.  I have a question for those of you who are taking pictures.  What is your thought on photo editing?  I always kind of thought of it as cheating, but I’m finding that some of the photos I find most compelling have been edited or have had creative effects added, so I’m changing my mind on that.  I’ve started to play a little with some of my pictures as well.  The following picture was edited using Picnik, and I’ve been meaning for months to link to Hope Revo.  You really have to check it out!  It’s a simple little concept of placing anonymous notes of hope in unexpected places.  The website has ideas and templates for creating these notes or you can come up with your own. 

Oh, and did you get it –  “Motion Pictures” – not like the movies, but pictures of things in motion.  See Ellie you’re not the only one who can be punny!  Someone stop me now before I hurt myself or someone else!!  I have so many other things to share this week before we leave for Hawaii, but for now I’ll leave you with this photo of Marshall and Everett “in motion”……

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Rachel says:

    Your motion photographs are wonderful – I especially like the otter! It’s colors are great and so are the bubbles and slight blurring of the otter’s face!

  2. Nancy says:

    Look at their biceps. Both could play b.ball in the majors if they
    want.

  3. Martha says:

    Great motion pictures!
    We are in the same boat! I started putting photos on Shutter Sisters, and also started feeling quite critical of my own point and shoot photos! I too am focusing on all I have been learning in a short amount of time, and these photo challenges are a big help!
    Keep up the good work!

  4. wonderful motion! i really love the globe spinning… the shot of the boys would be better if there was hair flying! 🙂

  5. MCM says:

    I’ll admit I noticed the striking biceps too…but not in a creepy sort of way, strictly anatomically “oh aren’t they fine health boys” way…

  6. Anna Y says:

    Love the photos and you are inspiring me to take better photos. Noticed that flickr is a little scarce lately… (That and have decided that CT is not for anybody on the Net to be seeing….). It’s great to see young men testosterone bonding and agree that they are definately healthy. But I can hear the couch sighing in relief that it’s going to get a holiday. Have fun in Hawaii!!!

  7. Jan says:

    Hey…….I am DEFINITELY not a photographer, but I’ll offer up an opinion on photo editing anyway. The way I see it, photographers have always edited….from the framing before they click the shot….to what they did in the dark room…to the cropping afterwards. So, as an artist, I see manipulation after the shutter closes as just one more artistic step towards achieving your goal. There’s an art to photo editing too.

    I love the otters and the flame! The boys are so funny. Was that a suggested pose from Mom or just life in the home where boys live? jj

  8. mayaluna says:

    Oh Jackie,
    I love, love love all of your photos! I’ve been meaning to tell you how happy I am that you joined Shutter Sisters…I don’t think you give yourself enough credit. Great motions shots. Hope Revo looks amazing. Have fun in Hawaii!

  9. Ellie says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I do love me a good pun.

Leave a Reply

