Hide your credit cards

dahlia by you.

Before I tempt you with goodies, I thought I’d give you a chance to run and hide your credit cards.  You can use this great advice from Clark Howard to keep your budget in check.  He suggests you fill a container with water, put your credit cards in it, and then stick it in the freezer.  Feel the urge to buy something, well, maybe by the time your cards have thawed out the feeling will have passed.  For months I’ve been wanting to buy some hooks or a peg board.  Sure I could have just picked up something at Target or Lowe’s.  But I wanted something special.  So when I saw this lovely piece on sale at Yellow Canoe I couldn’t resist.

from yellow canoe by you.

I think it goes very well with the concrete table too.  Wonder how many weeks it will take me to get it hung.  Hmmmmm.  Then I saw this book on someones blog (sorry, can’t remember which one right off the top of my head – feel free to link in the comments!)

  did I need this - probably not..... by you.

And well, I felt the need to get it to.  Not sure why I felt compelled to buy it as I already have so many books.  I guess I was thinking I could use it to market what?????  my hot air????  No, no, no, but I think it will end up being useful and plan on reading it on the plane.  I was shaking my head in agreement with the chapter on Why D.I.Y.?, particularly this quote:  “people making things themselves to save money, to customize goods to suit their exact needs and interests, and to feel less dependent on the corporations that manufacture and distribute most of the products and media we consume.  On top of these practical and political motivations is the pleasure that comes from developing an idea, making it physically real, and sharing it with other people.”  We’ll see.  I’m sure it was money spent that could have been put to better use.  You know, maybe food for my perpetually hungry children! 

And this book, well for those of you who sew or have an interest in sewing, this book is awesome!  The techniques in here are really incredible, and instructions are given for them all.  The examples are all done in muslin.  It is not a pattern book, but a technique book that can be used in whatever application you want to use it.  Clothing, textile art, quilting, upholstery, etc.

Inspiration by you.

ruffles by you.

stuffed fabric by you.

yoyos and texture by you.

So, don’t say I didn’t warn you.  And if you do find yourself giving in, buy some aerating shower heads too.  Because then at least you will save on your water bill.  We changed out our shower heads, and our water usage dropped by 1000 gallons in the last month.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jan says:

    When I saw that hook thingy, my first thought was “looks like it is painted with smoothpebbles.” My second thought was that it would nicely match your concrete table.

    That book looks too good. It’s a good thing that I don’t have time for projects right now, because I have an Amazon gift certificate burning a hole in my pocket….and I’d love to jump into that book. ……..sigh.

    If I don’t catch up with you before you leave for your trip, know that I will be in such awful envy for you and your’s. Have a wonderful, wonderful trip.

  2. Anna Y says:

    Wow a 1000 gallons of water was saved using an aerating shower heads?? Hats off and am sorely tempted to change the ones in the place we are renting. We do the wet, soap, rinse routine here to give the earth’s precious resource a break.

    My mum has The Art of Manipulating Fabric for many years and I have often opened a page up and had a go. NEED that book in my life but assumed it would out of print (good to see that classic technique books still in print). Thanks for letting me know that Amazon has it. Hope you have fun learning the techniques too. 😀

    Lovely peg board…. But I couldn’t possibly hang it on the wall here, so no cyber swiping today. Just admiring your superemely good taste.

    Have fun in Hawaii and welcome to my climatic zone. 😀

  3. Martha says:

    Well, I just got home from a trip to the mall in search of somthing to wear to a wedding that I’m going to tomorrow! Nice procrastination there, because nothing I wear in real life will suffice at a wedding. So, now I will promptly freeze my credit cards in a glass of water for the rest of the weekend!
    I plan to take hundreds of photos at the wedding!
    I hope you are planning to take thousands on your vacation!!! 🙂

  4. MCM says:

    …looong ago, the man and I DID freeze the credit cards…as I recall, I just became super handy with the hair dryer…(I really don’t think I ‘m kidding)…
    and then there was the friend (you know her too) who had her credit card number MEMORIZED (sweet Zeus) so no help to her either!!!…
    yeah yeah yeah, the beautiful book of textile manipulation bliss…but are you going to actually manipulate?…or just let it taunt you with all its perfection from the shelf, like mine does me?

  5. the only thing i like to freeze is pesto. and shredded cheese (keeps it from going moldy between pizza fixes).

    i do a little freelance work outside of my day job. it drives me batty, but then i have a little extra to spend on crafty fun stuff. and revenue from etsy bankrolls my etsy purchases (start a shop, j!).

    fabulous purchases! have fun with all of the great inspiration.

  6. Rachel says:

    I’m glad you got the DIY book! I really liked it, too!

Leave a Reply

