Aloha from the Whiners Anonymous meeting

31041802(1) by you.

Hi, my name is Jackie.  And I’m a Whiner with a capital W.  I’d like to introduce you to my family.  Whiners too.  Every last one of them.  We just had the most wonderful time in Kauai, Hawaii, but now we can’t stop whining.  “We don’t wanna go home!” (All of us)  “I don’t wanna go back to work!  I don’t wanna see the credit card bill!” (Brian)  “We don’t wanna register for school!”  (The boys)  “We miss the beautiful Hawaiian hula girls!” (Marshall and Everett)  “I don’t wanna go to the grocery store, cook, do laundry or clean house!” (Me)  “We wanna go back to the Garden Island right now!! WAAAAHHHH!!” *all of us throwing ourselves to the floor, kicking and screaming*

Alright. Enough.  But for the next few days I have to share pictures and thoughts of paradise to keep the mana flowing.  It helps me to slowly acclimate to reality.  Otherwise there may be an epic whining tantrum!

And lest you think it was all paradise in paradise – there were sunburns on everyone, mutual spousal silent treatment lasting a day and a half over the itenery, and one major toe stubbing.  The first night we were there I caught Nate’s big toe with the room door, ripping the toenail part way up.  This is the second child I have done this to.  Crap, my chances for Mother of the Year go up in flames yet again. 

Pretty gross huh?  It was made even worse when he bumped it again later in the week.  But if you keep scrolling down I promise some beautiful pics.

stubbed toe thanks to mama by you.

 

“Our” beach, 100 feet from our room.  As soon as the bags were dropped in our rooms, the boys raced to get their bathing suits on and rush to the ocean.

28085241 by you.

View from Kilauea Lighthouse.

01065044 by you.

Hanalei Bay on the North shore.

01000111 by you.

01041338 by you.

and a gratuitous picture of rocks and surf!

Rocks and surf by you.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Karin says:

    After seeing this, I’m a whiner, too! “Why can’t I go to Hawaii right now?” 😉 Beautiful photos! It sounds like it was a fabulous trip.

  2. batspit says:

    those mountains look so lush! I imagine the flora and fauna was breathtaking. I’m glad you all had a wonderful time- and it’s nice to have a face to match the fun writing!!

  3. ellen kelley says:

    I just shouted out loud, “She’s back! Hot damn!”
    I’ve missed you. I am sorry about the toe, and yes, you will probably not win Mother of the Year in 08. ..but there is hope for next year. I sincerely hope that you will not end up like moi, not even a mention in archives of Who’s Who in the Mother of the Year tastefully bound volumes.
    I am so happy that you had such a good time. I do understand the whimpering about getting back to reality. Tis not fun!
    Your pictures are gorgeous and p.s. you are beautiful.
    Welcome home dear person!

  4. Patricia says:

    Yay, you’re back! (I had the same reaction as ellen kelley above.) See, I used to whine about how long it takes to get to Hawaii from the East Coast. But . . . my husband flies there next week for a week (more whining that I don’t get to go along), and lo and behold he found a direct flight from Newark! I don’t know how he’s bending space and time to do so, but I’m checking into it. My in-laws have a condo on Kauai, so I’m thinking Christmas on the Garden Island.

    Love the toe picture! It’s not summer without someone losing a toenail.

  5. Martha says:

    Aloha and welcome home!
    We have spent a week floating around Hanalei Bay, snorkeling at Poipu beach and hiking the Na Pali coast. So, I can feel your pain in transitioning back to this life we call reality, after a trip to paradise!

  6. threesneakybugs says:

    Aloha!
    That toe is disgusting. It sent shivers down my spine.
    As for the rest – sigh….. so beautiful. I’m glad you had a wonderful time and terribly sorry you have to return to real life.

  7. mayaluna says:

    Oh my, were you missed! I hope the “blog love” your getting takes a little of the sting out of returning to the everyday humdrums. Originally being a West Coaster, Hawaii was a special spot for us. Honeymoon on Kawaii…your pictures are gorgeous (with that toe as the obvious exception) and really capture that paradise feeling.

  8. jen says:

    whine away! you have every right to. i’ve discovered a little something called “post-vacation depression”… coming home from a wonderful trip can be traumatizing! 🙂

    you were missed, bu it sounds like you had a wonderful time. i look forward to seeing more pictures and stories! welcome home, sorry you had to come back!

  9. Rachel says:

    Beautiful vacation photos! But I’m sure it’s impossible to take a bad photo when the scenery is so gorgeous! : )

  10. Jackie’s home!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yea!!!!! I’ve thought about y’all many times over the past week, and have been anxious to get the low down on your trip. I’m so excited that you came back with such exuberance. And there are not all that many other people in your photos. AWESOME! I thought it’d be crowded on the beaches there. I can hardly wait for the next installment of your story. Welcome home.

  11. Claudia says:

    ok, first of all, that toe accident is pretty gross but lets not focus on that!!! wow, beautiful pictures and I love how honest you are… mutual spousal silent treatment…sorry but that made me smile! I think that, even if I love my job, I’m always in “whiner” mode…so welcome to the club. Happy to read you again 🙂 xox

  12. Anna Y says:

    wow what beautiful photos (all viewed over at flickr) and sounds like you had fun. My family have toenail/foot injuries every trip, so they are par for the course. At least you did not partially severe his achilles tendon like what happened to one family member (courtesy of another) on one memoriable overseas holiday. There was lots of mutal spousal cones of silences….. My whine? The dinosaur computer died and we are using my work computer. As it has never been online or updated since 2003 I can’t view a bloody graphic online (blog reading is just not the same without the picture….). One now has to work out how to remedy this (joys of a japanese o/s and a spate of mutual spousal silence here as well… A looooong story which I will save for an email…) Welcome home.

  13. applecyder says:

    I would be whining too! Such nice photos Jackie. Yes, please, keep them coming. Glad you are back. Well, glad for me, not for you, if you know what I mean….

  14. kristin says:

    you are so very funny…Hawaii has that whinning effect on people 🙂

    sounds like you all had such a great time!!

Leave a Reply

