What she said.

grey and black by you.

I ran across this post at Camilla’s blog.  And couldn’t agree more.  However, being me I’ve got plenty to add.  I can’t just leave it at that.  These are pictures of drift wood I took in Kauai. 

contrast by you.

greys and texture by you.

'holy' driftwood by you.

The driftwood looks like art to me.  Often I find myself mesmerized by the patterns, colors, textures, and designs in nature.  An intricately formed spider web.  The color contrast of a particular plant in my garden.  The lush texture of moss on a rock, like velvet.  The way the light and shadow fall through a leafy branch.  It makes me want to recreate these things somehow or snap a photo.  I saw an article in National Geographic this year of gloriously multicolored nudibranchs, it nearly took my breath away!  And one of the things I love most about being a mom is being out in nature with the boys.  Someone will be so excited about showing the rest of us something they’ve found – a fossil in a rock, an interesting insect, or a colorful leaf.  And it feels like we are discovering the world in a fresh way, and the moment becomes sacred as we contemplate the miracles that surround us.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. ellen kelley says:

    Beautiful photos! I love looking at the textures, colors and shapes in nature too. I think having a camera in hand makes you, or encourages you to look at things so differently. ..and, yes, children do add a whole new dimension and a set of eyes and sensibilities that we sometimes have put away as adults.
    The last picture makes me think of stone and cliffs where an ancient people have carved out dwellings and created a community for themselves. Sacred moments and seeing the miracles around us is truly the best gift given to us. Your boys will remember these times forever with love and joy.

  2. Anna Y says:

    Your photos are so fab. You compose nature’s beauty well. I’m starting to look at nature from new eyes now, it is amazing what you miss when you are so far off the ground. Amazing what a 3″ heigh ‘hobbit’ can spy and what a jungle a garden can be. 😀

  3. henny says:

    Hi Jackie! I just pop up from Ellen’s blog.
    The pictures are awesome, I mean it just wood but when we closely take a look at it…wow, fantastic! Good works..:)
    2 week ago I also try (beginning to try) to capture usual thing with my digital camera on our holiday and I put them at my blog.

  4. I love driftwood. It comes to you on the beach already sanded to sensuous beauty. My sister sent me a box of it from the Oregon coast as my birthday present this year. I collect lots of it for the kids to make sculptures from. How can you go wrong working with such beautiful stuff?

  5. melinda says:

    love the driftwood…I brought a bunch of small “sensously sanded” (love that Snippity!) pieces back from the Redneck Riviera with high hopes of making a mobile out of them…so far all I’ve accomplished is allowing them lay about long enough for all the male dogs to shower them with distinctive urine blessings…my life rocks absolutely!

  6. rebecca says:

    Great photos! There is something quite charming and magical about drift wood – wondering where it has come from, what shores it’s passed, where it started life and how it came to be ‘lost’. Quite beautiful.

  7. Lil' d says:

    How true.

    I love your photos.

  8. jacquie says:

    Thanks so much for dropping over to my blog. I put you on my reader so you won’t get lost. I tend to lose things!
    Beautiful photos. I see a quilt here.

  9. Patricia says:

    melinda–LOL!!

    Nothing to add here, (or multiply or divide or fractionate) except ditto AND Driftwood should be a color in the Crayola box.

  10. Stephanie says:

    All I can say is OMG, those pictures are absolutely stunning. I couldn’t agree more how special and beautiful driftwood is, it really is a work of art. Fantastic pictures!!

Leave a Reply

