Lessons Learned

No entrance by you.

Sometimes we create our own barriers to reaching our expectations.  The World Wide Photo Walk in Kansas City was one of those lessons.  I was trying too hard to not take the “obvious” pictures and in doing so I think I missed out on some of the…..well……obvious pictures.  But I would do it again in a heartbeat, and I would have this valuable lesson tucked into my pocket.  I think I came away with a few gems, but all of my pictures seemed to have the same colorless blah to them.  A couple of days after this experience though I came across this helpful video on Robyn’s blog, and it helped to put things in perspective.  Maybe some of you will find a lesson in it as well.  Bottom line – don’t give up – keep trying, practicing, improving and learning!

Ira Glass

p.s.  For those of you wondering, my mental health is stable for the moment, but I find I’m not all that good at kicking things to the curb.  More d.a.m.n. life lessons learned – rats!!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. simpledaisy says:

    So true…so true!! We really do tend to create our own barriers to reching our own expectations! Maybe it’s because we expect so much for ourselves! Have a great day…

  2. Patricia says:

    Jackie, I’m crying here. I love Ira Glass, and I love you for posting his Youtube video. I’ve never heard such a succint description of getting past that initial “gap” in what we want to make/write/do and what we actually produce. I will take this to heart.

    Thanks for lifting my spirits. It helps more than you know today.

  3. I think you are quite good at your craft. I do understand that feeling of looking and looking for the image and not finding it, however, (I never find that image however. No photog here.) In my opinion, your best photos are those you take of the things in which you have the most familiarity. The thread photo? Simply beautiful. Your paint chip photos. The same. Laundry on the line. Loved it. Don’t underestimate yourself.

  4. Amy says:

    Ok, I needed to hear that! Now I need to get to work, I was close to that “giving up” part Ira was talking about…not good.

  5. ellen kelley says:

    I love the symbolism of the photo here. Isn’t that what we all do to ourselves? Lock the door, or imagine that the lock is there and never defy it or think that we have the key to unlock that door and walk out into the openness of possibility, a new world that we never imagined ourselves capable of inhabiting?….a world or universe in which we never imagined we could or would have had a voice?
    I struggle with this (that?) all of the time, coming so very LATE to this place and feeling so out of it in terms of competency and ability.
    However, I am encouraged by people like you and others to keep on keeping on (and Ira)…and am increasingly attempting to listen to my inner voice that says, “Yes, you can participate and, yes, you can throw your soul and endeavors out there, and yes, I may be old by many peoples’ standards, but it is my right to try and throw my hat into the ring too.
    Thank you for what you do and say. I hope that you know how much I respect you.

  6. threesneakybugs says:

    Words of wisdom, my lady, words of wisdom.

    I like this image. I like the blue outlining the lock. That’s my favorite part.

  7. I am returning to this post after a day has passed. I meant to listen to the Ira Glass video yesterday, but I forgot. Then I saw Zen Crafter’s repost and thought I must really need to watch it since it appeared in my face twice. That really was a quite excellent piece. Thanks for sharing it. I need to save it someplace and revisit it often. So often I feel unconfidant…is that a word???… about what I am doing. Ira’s statement that you “just have to work through the crap” is quite true. You hear that sentiment over and over again with artists and inventors. I need to remember it and keep it in my mind like a mantra.

  8. molly says:

    wise words indeed. thanks for the clip! maintaining a blog on a regular basis certainly fills that need to keep fine-tuning your craft, putting yourself out there, receiving feedback. gotta love ira.

  9. Erin says:

    I agree…you just need to learn to work through the crap! It’s out there and it’ll stick to you and bog you down if you let it! Thanks for the illumination!

    Thanks also for the Birthday Love and comments on my Mom’s 70th. It was a lot of fun and I am pooped! But I am thinking of starting my own small home business…so I’m going to be going through a lot of C.R.A.P. myself until that happens. 🙂

Leave a Reply

