long, long ago in a decade far past

 door #3 by you.

I was 3!  But,  MY birthday was on Saturday.  The day after Marshall’s.  I’ve decided to just get over it, and not be a shrinking violet about declaring my age.  I am now 45.  There I’ve said it out loud.  No dramatics, no denials, no cringing, no whining (that’s a first!).  Instead celebrating, accepting, laughing that I’ve come to a place in my life that feels full and rich, and that somehow I’m comfortable in my own skin and with who I am! So there, take that you laugh lines, you gray hairs, you varicose veins.  I’m so okay with this that you don’t even bother me.  Okay, that part is sheer denial, but whatever……

handful of yummy by you.

The boys ordered some blueberry bushes for my birthday.  They arrive later this month.  I’m giddy thinking about picking blueberries next summer.  I’m sure there won’t be many the first year as they are only two year old bushes.  It’s almost embarrassing how many blueberries I consume during the season.

And I picked this handbag out on Etsy.  Brian asked what I wanted and I said a new bag from Etsy.  You will find many beautiful things in this shop.

Pleated bag - Imari linen blend

Saturday was my kind of day too, cloudy and a little rainy.  Which suits my personality to a T.  A perfect lazy day with my peeps – no chores, no cooking.  And I was able to finish my bookmarks for the Bookmark Swap hosted by Amy.

bookmarks for swap by you.

papercut bookmark by you.

bookmark by you.

bookmark by you.

And the icing on the cake of my birthday was that last week I had this picture chosen as the September 3rd Daily Click on Shutter Sisters.  And my yo yo flare picture was on flickr Explore.  I don’t know how the Explore thing works exactly or how you know your picture was chosen.   I only knew because someone mentioned it in the comments.  I just about detonated with the thrill of it!

girls in blue by you.

One more thing, normally I try to respond to most if not all of my comments/emails, but I’m begging off this week as I’m in charge of feeding 600-700 hungry farmers on Friday.

24 Comments Add yours

  1. oh, happy, happy birthday, jackie! eh, we all get old. all of us, so why do we make it such a big deal? i actually forget how old i am some days… and blueberry bushes? that is one of the best gifts, ever!

    i love your bookmarks, and wow, seriously, your cut paper bookmark is astounding!

    and congrats on the great photo recognition!

  2. ellen kelley says:

    Oh, congratulations on all counts! How wonderful about your photos. You deserve it and your bookmarks are just beautiful and so unique. I love them all.
    Happiest of birthdays to you. Wish I could watch you blow out the candles. I’ll be thinking of you.
    Luncheon for only 600-700? Wow!
    Have a lovely week. Gotta love the blueberries. What a great gift and that purse is something else.
    Happy Day.

  3. Amy says:

    Happy Birthday! 45 and Fabulous!

    Your bookmarks are wonderful, love each of them! I wanted to make a papercut bookmark, but an idea just wouldn’t come to me…yours is so great!

  4. Patricia says:

    Happy birthday, Jackie!! My daughter reminded me that on my upcoming b-day (in December) I’ll be the answer to life, the universe, and everything! What a great perspective to have on turning 42. And that must mean that you are the answer+!

    Your bookmark cutout is smokin’ hot!! I love your felt ones, too! I’m seeing Etsy shop material!

  5. Melinda says:

    see, the rest of the universe has acknowledged that you rock absolutely too! 45 has nothing on youuuuuuu!

  6. What an awesome birthday week! Ah, 45, I remember it well. You don’t look a bit like 45. I was trying to guess your age by your photos, but 45………40, even……..wasn’t in the guesses. You’re holding it together well, my friend.

    The cut paper piece is nice. You should have gone into design. You have such a flair for it.

    And I love those round felt pieces you do. They’re alway pretty.

    And congrats on the Flickr thing. That REALLY is cool. I’m impressed!

  7. Martha says:

    47! You can lean on me sister!
    I saw your pic on the daily click, and thought ‘I know her!’ Congrats to you!
    What a week you have! Good thing you are so young!

  8. Anna Y says:

    Happy belated birthday wishes!!!! My wise grandfather once told me that if you think young, you stay young, birth certificate phtttt. Sounds like you had a brilliant day and have fun feeding all those people.

    I’m with Patricia, when are you opening the Etsy store??

  9. Rachel says:

    Great bookmarks – your partner will love them!

  10. Jen says:

    Hippety Hoppity Happity Birthday!

  11. jacquie says:

    Happy belated birthday…i was 51 yesterday and as my hubby said I’m like a great wine…better with age! congrats on the photos…fabulous!!! and blueberry bushes…now that’s a gift that keeps on giving.

  12. I LOVE your bookmarks, especially the embroidered circles one. It is beautiful!

  13. simpledaisy says:

    Happy Birthday!! I love the bookmarks!
    Have a great day!! And good luck with feeding that many people!

  14. rebecca says:

    These bookmarks are gorgeous!
    Big Birthday hugs too 🙂

  15. Diane says:

    Happy (belated) BIrthday! Congratulations on all the good things! I’m working on the gray hairs acceptance thing, I’m glad to read about that sort of thing! : )

  16. Nancy says:

    Terrific bookmarks! Could I sign Caroline and myself up for a private class on these??

  17. Claudia says:

    Happy belated birthday 🙂
    You have such good taste. Such a pretty handbag. You will be super stylish this fall! And, well, the bookmarks are as usual perfect!

  18. batspit says:

    I’m glad your birthday is the 6th, it will give me something to look forward to. Happy birthday my friend. Expect cards to arrive on time next year. (oh and that purse? very cute).

  19. mayaluna says:

    Happy birthday!!!! Sounds like a fantastic one. I wish I had known when I saw the daily click how extraordinarily wonderful it was and could have given you an even bigger congrats! Your bookmarks are magnificent, just like you. Thanks for being such a lovely model in acceptance…or at least trying. Have such a perfect week!

  20. threesneakybugs says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!!!
    Nice bag.
    LOVE the bookmarks.
    I’ve always liked that pictures
    600-700 is insane!

  21. Claire says:

    Happy birthday!
    I love those bookmarks!
    Love the girls in window!
    Happy birthday, again!

  22. applecyder says:

    hbd jackie! sounds like you had a great day. i love the bkmarks, esp the cut out. and i love that crayon photo from a previous post.

  23. Lil' d says:

    Happy belated birthday! Congratulations on having a famous pictures, too! Lovely bookmarks!

    Ok, now that I’ve been nice, can I ask why you had to buy MY bag? Ok, so I didn’t buy it as soon as I saw it, but I didn’t think it too much to ask that it would stay unsold until some fairy godmother came along and asked me what I would like if I wasn’t worrying about how much the bathroom was going to cost to redo…

    Ah well, it would probably end up with a crayon drawing on it if it had come to stay in this house. It’s probably best that I stick to practical black until we round up all the random drawing tools that my kids seem to find…

Leave a Reply

