up to my elbows in barbeque beef

  farm country by you.

The dang computer is in the shop……..again.  What the hell?  Every few months we are shelling out money for the d.a.m.n. thing.  And, well, I’m a professional blogger now and I must not be thwarted in my attempts to spew things online.  The reason I know I’m a professional blogger is because it has spilled over into my real life.  Like this…..When I called the bun man (that’s what I call him) to make my order for the 800 buns I needed for the big lunch I asked him what time I needed to meet him for the delivery.  When he told me between 9:00 and 9:30 a.m. I blurted out without thinking “I LOVE YOU!!”  Because when you have a blog and you frequently leave comments on other blogs you do so with great enthusiasm, lots of exclamation marks, and overuse of capital letters.  And the reason I said, “I LOVE YOU!!” is because in years past I’ve always had to meet him between 5:30 and 6:00 a.m.  Needless to say I think he suddenly became very wary of doing business with me.

Anyway, blah, blah, blah…….so the computer thing….. I only have a couple of pictures from Friday.  But with the help of some great volunteers we cooked up 220 lbs. of BBQ beef, cut and plated about 400 servings of dessert, poured 100’s of glasses of tea and soda, surrounded by men in bib overalls and seed caps, farm implements, garden test plots, and University of Missouri Ag teachers.  I was so tired afterwards that I went to bed at 9:00 p.m. 

Here is one of the pictures I took from one of the event tents.  The first photo is the original and the second I played with it on Picnik.

tent and sky by you.

holgaish tent and sky by you.

P.S.  These are the last official days for signing up for the Illuminated Phrase.  Thanks to everyone who has signed up already.  I can’t wait to see what the projects will be.   When I get the computer back I will list the participants in a post.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. threesneakybugs says:

    Lordy that’s a lot of beef! Good going.

    I know what you mean about the gushing. I have yet to scare away a bun man but I have noticed it creeping into my non-blogging associated emails. Must control myself.

    On the other hand, this world could use some more gushing.

  2. ellen kelley says:

    Gush away because we all love you!
    Sounds like a very fun day. Beef, it’s what’s for dinner..or whatever they say.
    Great photos here too. I was going to say, “I love those pictures!!!!!!!”

  3. I like the black and white. It almost has an ominous feel to it.

    Losing the computer is a big deal. I know that I am online as much as most people are glued to the tv. Every now and then a break from the computer is nice and welcome, but a prolonged separation would be unhappy.

    I got the Mac mainly because I didn’t want to worry about getting a virus. I do like the Mac, but it is like learning a new language. So many things are different from my pc. I also miss some of the programs that I had on the pc. Once I am fully acclamated, I think I will be as happy with one as the other.

    Any chance that you or the hubby have an affiliation with a college as faculty or staff? Or anyone taking college classes? You can get a education discount, plus a free iPod Touch, and free printer until Oct. 15 or so.

  4. andrea says:

    wow love that b&w pic!

  5. Anna Y says:

    I bet you were sick of the smell of cooking meat by the end of it.

    Did you get yourself all tongue tied after the gush to the baker. I would have. Then blushed profusely and try to explain myself when I picked up the buns. But sigh, I have always been like that. Born with foot in mouth disease was I..

    Love the both pictures of the tent don’t need a favourite.. 😀 Both are gorgeous.

  6. mayaluna says:

    Love with and exclamation point! that b&w one! Before I started blogging my friends would tease me about my favorite word (love) and how much I gushed…guess it was inevitable to start a blog…found my home and my peeps!!!! Yes the world needs more enthusiasm and love!

    ps…that was a lot of beef!

  7. Nancy says:

    Love the tent photos. Did you take the photo of the cow, too?

  8. trish says:

    That second picture is excellent. It really pops.

Leave a Reply

