Gradeschool Flashback Anyone?

Under the Bleachers by you.

Under the Bleachers by you.

Some Flare Friday pics titled “Under the Bleachers”  By:  Seymour Butts.  *me rolling on the floor with a fit of the giggles*  Oh, *gasp, wiping a tear of laughter from my cheek* that one never gets old.   Or how about “Yellow River”  By:  Wi P. Freely……    

Yellow River by you.

Well, do you feel like you are back in gradeschool yet?  If not, see if this will take you back in time. 

This is a note I found scrunched up in the bottom of Nate’s backpack.  It was written by two girls in his class.  Remember all the note writing and passing around?  Here are the contents of the note:  (and you can see by the condition of the note how little Nate cares about all of this utter silliness!)

     Friday we would like to have Funky day for 5th grade.  Were (wear) funky clothes and do your hair funny.  Please check one and put in locker 1117 or 1139 by Thursday before lunch.

                                            _____yes                       _____no

If we have 10 votes yes or more we will do funky day.  We will let you know.

                                   Your friends,   Kelsey and Kristin

Which reminds me, don’t forget to rock the vote!!  My sister-in-law, Nancy, and a friend both sent me this link.  I’m not sure how to link an email, but you can go here for an overview of the history.  If you haven’t seen it take a look.  It’s a little glimpse into the sacrifices some women were willing to make in order that all women would have the right to vote. 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. yes to funky friday!

    it’s funny how fall always reminds me of school. the football games. chasing boys. trying to be cool. sometimes i miss it, but i don’t think i want to do it again!

    and i love that you can crack yourself up with such juvenile humor!

  2. Anna Y says:

    what do they mean by funky?? i consider funky to be covered in ct snot (um a feral habit that has started here, she wipes her nose on my clothing, ugh). so if they want funky day, it’s everyday here.. 😀

    seymore buttocks and ben dover are two gents i have gotten to know well when i did relief teaching and was not supplied with a roll. amanda huginkiss and incontinentia buttocks were 2 lovely ladies who also frequented those classes. nothing like some good toilet humour! it keeps you sane!

  3. smoothpebble says:

    Oh, and don’t forget Hugh Jass!

  4. ellen kelley says:

    You have made my day. I am wiping tears of laughter off of my cheeks. I thought it was only us oldies…kids in the 1940’s who had such humor.

  5. molly says:

    my kids love this one:

    What’s your name?

    What’s the color of the sky?

    What’s the opposite of down?

    Molly Blue Up! Get it? Somehow it never gets old…for them.

    I love school bleachers, especially the noise they make when someone walks down. clang. clang.

  6. Wi P Freely. Seymour Butts. Lord have mercy, it sounds like 95% of the conversations between the 51 year old and 49 year old living in this house.

    I get a kick out of the notes I find in my classroom sometimes. They never seem to change much over the years.

  7. Rachel says:

    Cute note! I was so like that as a kid! : )

  8. simpledaisy says:

    That’s so funny because in 2 weeks we are having an 80’s party!!! Talk about flashbacks!!
    Have a great day!!

  9. andrea says:

    hee. hee. you gave me good laugh!

  10. jacquie says:

    i’m wiping the tears from my eyes…too funny! i wish i could remember all the other ones we used to use. i’m sure nate will be getting a lot more notes…those girls can be wolves (at least that’s what my boys would tell me!)

  11. Claudia says:

    ooohhhhh, so cute! I think that I will write little notes again 🙂

  12. Ellie says:

    Smooth. . .Oh, I love this post. But please don’t tell me that you’ve forgotten that great Eastern classic literature, “Brown Spots on the Wall” by Wan Flung Dung.
    Cabin Girl

  13. trish says:

    Seymour Butts. AH HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!!! And fart jokes and other potty jokes don’t get old, either.

Leave a Reply

