Everyday life

love this floor by you.

I’m in love with this floor!  I want to lay down on it and caress it tenderly, and then I want to rip it up and take it home with me………..  Sometimes when I pick Nate up from school we walk to the Farmer’s Exchange to buy a bottle of soda (yes, soda in a glass bottle, usually root beer or creme soda) or pick out a treat in the candy display.  And I love going there.  It’s like walking into a time machine.  Back to the time when small family farms were the norm.  And it has that smell that immediately transports me back to my childhood and going to the CO-OP with my grandfather.  Bins of nails, displays of work gloves, sacks of feed.  Milk bottles to feed bottle calves.

milk bottles for bottle calves by you.

Cow earrings, it’s what all the cool cowz are wearing on their ears.

cow earrings by you.

Functional footwear.

galoshes by you.

Oh, and did I mention that floor?  That glorious woodgrain and patina, years of wear, history.   It tells me a story of the satisfaction of a day’s hard work, and community, and a gratefulness for the bounty of the land, and perseverence, and so much more.

Lately too I have been on a flickr binge, and find myself drunk in love with the images and stories I’m finding there.  Drink it up, this elixer of life!  To get a better view, and the credits for these images go here.

elixer of life by you.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. gorgeous photos, jackie! and i’m liking the halloween-theme. now i want candy.

  2. jacquie says:

    love stores like this! that floor is to die for.

  3. melinda says:

    you didn’t mention how loud that floor is! no one sneaks about in the Farmer’s exchange! Honestly, I’ve been afraid that I would be the one that finally (after how many years? how long has that store been there?) fell through!

  4. I love those old stores. Old hardware stores. Old grocery stores. I could roam around those places for hours. They’re always full of those magical, quirky things….like cow “earrings.” My grandparents ran an old country store/gas station. I can still remember the ladder on wheels that they had. That old store got bought by the state to build a new highway. The new store didn’t have anywhere near the character of the old one. And it had those wonderful old floorboards too.

  5. Rachel says:

    Beautiful photographs!

  6. Martha says:

    Thanks for the tour of your wonderful store with cow earrings! Great floor, I can see why you are in love!

  7. Nancy says:

    Really like the photos!

  8. Ellie says:

    I love the picture of the shoes and the milk bottles. I wish I could visit your Farmer’s Exchange. . .what a fantastic place. I am closing my eyes and trying to imagine the smell.. . .

  9. batspit says:

    love the layout- it’s one of the templates I considered using. and your photos are FANTASTIC

Leave a Reply

