On Being a Role Model

hooray for nature by you.

I must begin this post with two disclaimers.  The first is that my blog header is not my photograph, it just came with this particular WordPress theme.  I like it, it fits in with the season, and so it will remain for a little while.  I’m feeling a bit restless and am trying to switch things up.  Second disclaimer is the above photo has nothing to do with being a role model.  But it does have a connection with my tale.  Ooops, one more disclaimer, if you want to skip the moral tale and just see some of the schweeeet mail I’ve received lately, and a creative project than just scroll down to the pictures.

On Being A Role Model

I have been coveting the Nikon D60 for months now.  It is a digital single lens reflex camera.  I really, really, really, really want this camera, and the zoom lens.  But it is quite expensive. Quite.  I finally talked myself into buying it because the local camera shop was having a sale.  Now keep in mind this is a Want not a Need.  I don’t work, and as I said before it is quite expensive.  My plan to pay for it was to write a check on our home equity account, and then earn the money by substitute teaching, and paying it back over time.  It would take many days of substitue teaching to pay this back.  But I was excited, I was going to have this coveted camera in my hands, and soon be making photography history with my stunning photos because I would have this awesome tool to work with.  But then…………..I started thinking about how I already have a camera that works pretty darn well,  about how we have taught the boys that they can’t buy something unless they already have the money for it,  about what a selfish and indulgent thing this would be, about how the boys might be watching and learning to do what I do not what I say.  Being a role model can be a real pain in the patootie, and sometimes it means you sacrifice what you want for something bigger.  Something huge.  Like a life lesson for your children.  So, Plan B is now to earn the money FIRST and then buy the camera, and along with having an awesome camera, maybe conveying an important lesson to the boys about being fiscally responsibile.  (Waaaaa!!)

Schweet mail:

Beautiful necklace and earrings from Simple Daisy that I got for my birthday. 

I ordered some cards, gift tags, and one of her printed onesies from Super Jen (that’s what I call her).  And she added some extra tags and one of her stab bound journals.  I told her that ‘stab bound’ made me think of someone pulling a switch blade and stabbing the paper violently.  Anyway, the journal is gorgeous especially with the different papers she used to make it.  I’m just saying you should head to her shop for some great Christmas shopping.

And I got a package in the mail from Claudia.  I had made her a squirrel papercut, and she sent me Mr. Tweeters and this really cool tote.  You can see Licorice in the background licking her chops.  Sorry Licorice, Mr. Tweeters is not a real bird!

And last but not least this is a little project Melinda and I worked on Friday.  Inspired by the Alabama Chanin tie chairs.  I’m not commenting on the price tag for these, but ours took a total of about 20 minutes.  And they turned out great!  It was decided they could not be seperated because they looked so good together.  Weirdly, I don’t know if it was from working with these old ties, but my fingers are covered with painful blisters.  It’s the only thing I can think of that might have caused this bizarre condition.  Now I’m off to make an embroidered t-shirt.  If it turns out, pictures to follow.  (Taken with my “old” camera! Waaaaaaa again!)

tie chair ala Alabama Chanin by you.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. you are a wonderful role model! last week i wanted to get an increase on my home equity line to do some renovations, but then realized it was a terrible idea financially. you have just re-enforced the fact that i need to save the money to do my project, and not increase my debt!

    yay! i’m glad you liked your package. the stab bound journals aren’t in my shop yet — my last attempt at photographing them was a disaster and i have been avoiding trying again like the plague.

    and yay! you got mr. tweeters! he’s found a good home. keep that kitty away from him!

    and lastly, the chairs are really cool. can you sit on them? i could picture my butt going right thru…

  2. Melinda says:

    she is a wonderful role model isn’t she?!! I need to take a few lessons here…as I continue to feel guilt for the painful blisters…

  3. Claudia says:

    A) I’m happy that you like your package! It took me forever but now I don’t freak out when I see your squirrel papercut 😉

    B) Love love love your chairs…so cool!

    C) I know what you are saying with the camera thing! I have a small “silver” point and shoot camera. I always wanted a “black” camera because it looks more “serious”. Like real photographers don’t have a “silver” camera. But them I realized that I don’t need an expensive “black” camera for many reasons: it doesn’t fit in my purse (!), it’s expensive, it’s probably to complicated for me since I don’t know what I’m doing most of the time and Dan got me the “silver” camera last year (it’s emotional)! Oh, the thin line between need and want!!!!

  4. Martha says:

    Sounds like a priceless lesson for your family, albeit a tough decision for you! You are an awesome role-model for living this life lesson!
    Keep snapping away with your Panasonic. By the time you get your D60, you will be such a master of photography it won’t matter what camera is in your hands!

  5. Birthday??????? When was your birthday? Ah, well, happy belated! I love the tie caning on the chairs. That’s a new one. Sorry to hear about the camera. Would lay-away be within the moral limits? Do they even still do lay-away?

  6. jacquie says:

    delayed gratification…hard…but good things usually are. you are a great role model. we are still working on this lesson with our oldest….
    birthday? did i miss the big announcement? if i did, happy birthday to you! (sung with wild enthusiasm!)
    btw…adore the chairs.

  7. simpledaisy says:

    Well hi there…
    It is sooo very hard to be a good role model..but it sounds like you are doing a wonderful job!!!
    Glad you liked my jewelry!!!! I am sure it looks fabulous on you!! Take care…..

  8. ellen kelley says:

    This is a good example. I cannot begin to tell you how many times I have done that…That being said..it was not intentional, it was because we just didn’t have the $$$$.
    I so applaud you and think that this is such a good sign for your children. I totally agree with Jacquie…delayed gratification is hard, but so are so many things in life that are truly good. Is there not a statement that says: “Good things come to all that wait”?
    Love the chairs.

  9. Rachel says:

    I looove that bag! The fabric is so cute!

  10. Nina says:

    Oh I so know what you mean! I want a new camera too, very badly. I’m currently doing a photography course and actually my current camera isn’t good enough to keep up with the course. So my boyfriend offered to buy me a new camera as a birthday gift. On the one hand, I really want one, but on the other hand it costs a lot of money and it feels bad that I can’t buy it myself. Makes me feel very dependent. Yeah… it would be great to keep saving for it. But when you really want something now it’s often hard! 😉

  11. Diane says:

    Ha! Oh, there has been much talk about cameras around here lately. I have this weensy little 3.2 mp (silver) camera and I want a big fat black D40 or D60 or Dsomething… but, alas, no cash. I’ve talked myself into feeling all right about this for months now by reminding myself that my little camera is easy to carry, I don’t worry too much about losing it or banging it up, etc. *sigh* Now my father-in-law has gone and bought himself a D80. I am extremely envious. He has loaned me his old camera which has more mp (3 more) and is black. But it’s still not an SLR. ALL THIS TO SAY, today I read about a contest where you can WIN one over at Digital Photography School. How about that?! Here’s the link:

    http://digital-photography-school.com/blog/win-a-dslr-in-our-new-photography-competition/?awt_l=Cjt3S&awt_m=1aILVONWWbkfGf

  12. threesneakybugs says:

    1st – Love the mail! All of it. Such talented people.
    2nd – Awesome chairs! I prefer the more rustic and color coordinatedness of yours compared to the Alabama Chanin ones.
    3rd – I’m with you! Me and the hubby are coveting the Nikon D60 as well. We’ve decided to forgo birthday, anniversary and christmas gifts (with a little exception of something from the kids) in order to get it. Additional caveat of the elimination of credit card debt in there too. The fact that you’re holding out for your values helps strengthen my resolve. So you see, you’re not just a role model for your kids but for me too.

    PS You take pretty darn good pictures with your current camera.

  13. molly says:

    what a wonderful lesson learned and taught. you are going to feel so good about walking into the camera shop and buying your camera – with cash! so funny about your bag and bird – i’ve made both projects recently. the blog world is a small world. love the chairs too 🙂

  14. Patricia says:

    Ah, that’s a lot of cash, but probably not a whole lot of days substitute teaching to cover it, I hope.

  15. Love your tie chairs – great idea!

  16. batspit says:

    you are a great role model, far more than you may know.

  17. kristin says:

    SOOOOOOOOO much inspiration here Jackie!!! i’d better be careful or i just may make myself a little crazy trying to round up some old ties 😉

Leave a Reply

