cha ching$$

after a day of substitute teaching *whew* by you.

This is the picture I took after a day of substitute teaching last week!  They were a good bunch of kids, but by the end of the day this is exactly what you want to do.  Put your feet up and breath for a few minutes.  Kudos to the teachers of the world!  This also is the beginning of my nest egg for the coveted Nikon D60, thus the cha ching$$.  I’ve decided that any money I save at the store using coupons also will go into the fund.  Sort of like paying myself, and I think that if I figured that as my hourly wage, you know just for the sake of argument – rounding off to a 40 hour work week, and figuring an average of $10.00 a week in coupon savings I would be making 25 cents an hour.  Pretty d.a.m.n. cheap labor.  And I’m going to throw a dollar a day at the fund too.  Still makes for cheap labor, and certainly should not be begrudged by anyone in this household.  I mean it, don’t even think about begrudging!  I’m using my Small Stump bag as my fund holder.

The subbing went well.  It was 15 first graders.  My least favorite things about subbing are the tattling, and the constant reminders from the children about what we are supposed to be doing or how things are done, as if the teacher did not leave me a very thorough schedule.  My favorite things about subbing are the hugs, the funny and interesting things the kids share, and especially these – love notes!

19 Comments Add yours

  1. ellen kelley says:

    I love Mrs. B. too! What fun…and yes, I know exhausting with teaching, for sure. I loved first graders…the excitement of learning to read..the everything.
    You are doing such a wonderful job on modeling for your children. Before you know it, you will have that lovely camera in your hot little hands.
    Happy weekend, friend. Best to you.

  2. Erin says:

    Jackie – I know, it’s been a long time! I’ve been really sick for the last month or so. First – Vertigo for 3 days and then getting better is really hard and actually almost worst than being sick. Then I got a spider bite. Not a nice spider either. It was really nasty and touch and go for a while. Then I got really bad allergies that have now turned into an insane cold from hell! Other than that…I’ve been good! I’ve missed reading your blog and conversing back and forth.

    My aunt is a Teacher – going on 32 years and I know she does that at the end of the day! 🙂 Hope all is well with all of your boys and your husband! Take care and I’ll be back sooner next time!

    Erin

  3. Erin says:

    Jackie – Duh! Totally forgot the reason I wanted to leave a comment! Is the Nikon D60 the one that Ashton Kutcher is using in that commercial where is stuffing a pair of undies into his camera bag? If it is, I want it too! Maybe I should start a little saving “bag” too!:)

  4. Amy says:

    You are my idol, so smart of you!

  5. Amy says:

    Oh forgot to mention, love the feet pic and cute shoes!

  6. Nancy says:

    I think this qualifies you to go on Oprah when she has her teacher show (the one where you get new appliances, a car and many high priced goodies). I really like the photo and the shoes. Lucky first graders!

  7. Martha says:

    What fun to be able to get love letters slipped to you at work! 🙂 That is a nice bennie we don’t get at work! Lucky girl!
    I love your D60 savings bag and am glad to see it starting to bulge!
    OXOXO

  8. annayama says:

    I admire substitute teachers a lot Mrs B, especially if they take the younger grades. Hats off and here’s to your fund.
    What a fantastic role model you are even if it is a pain in the butt….

  9. simpledaisy says:

    I know exactly how you feel!! I am a special education teacher!!! Most days I am completely wiped out at the end of the day!!! But then I come home and make jewelry!!! And that helps me relax and rejunvinate for the next day!!
    Take care….

  10. jacquie says:

    good subs were always treasured when i was teaching. glad you had a good day! love notes…awwww…definitely a perk. good for you adding to your camera stash!

  11. The little notes certainly are one of the perks of teaching. How many jobs provide that?

    I love your savings plan for your camera. There is a one person campaign running in my house for airplane tickets. My daughter won’t be able to come home for Christmas, so I may try to fly out there. I have a shoe box full of loose change. My sincere hope is that the vision of this box of change will inspire the other member of this household to throw in their loose change as well. (So far, it hasn’t been inspirational.)

  12. whew! i don’t think i could ever teach. hooray to you and all other teachers! i love your camera fund plan. you’ll get it in no time!

  13. applecyder says:

    I love your savings plan. (Though you do need to bump up your pay a bit!) And am very proud of you for not just rationalizing the big purchase. (I just talked myself down from a serger.) Love the stump bag too.

  14. molly says:

    way to earn! i heard an interview on npr the other day with a woman who is a coupon master – the funny thing is she buys a lot of stuff i probably wouldn’t buy in the first place. which is the whole point of many coupons i guess. but i did get some good tips and i might give coupons a try myself – but only for the stuff i need. i like how you pay yourself 🙂

  15. melinda says:

    ummm, so you are good at “teething”?

    …and you felt this was appropriate to share with young impressionable Lutheran-ish (God forbid!) minds? I may need to rethink our whole friendship!…

    love the $$$ bag…I have a similar “stash”, I keep it in a now long defunct bank “cash deposit” bag thingy…but yours is way cuter!

    …or are you good at tether ball? that might be okay to share with the children…

  16. Rachel says:

    Such a cute note! My students are just that age and they’re so wonderful, although I feel the same way about tattling! : )

  17. threesneakybugs says:

    I need to get me a little bag or wallet or something to put my dSLR savings into as well. Maybe it’ll actually feel like it will happen some day then.

  18. Awww…what a sweet note! I save every last one of those little notes that I get. I keep them where I can see them all the time so it will remind me of the reasons I decided to be a teacher….especially when I have a dreadful day.
    Good for you putiing money away for your new camera. I hope you have enough very soon!!!

  19. trish says:

    So do you keep the love notes? Or throw them away?

Leave a Reply

