Pumpkin Festival 2008

Pumpkin Festival 2008 by you.

Went to my brother’s annual Pumpkin Festival and celebrated the season with hayrack rides, homemade pumpkin ice cream, apple bobbing, a bonfire, a treasure hunt that ended in fistfuls of candy for all the children, horse rides, bratwursts and pumpkin beer, and much, much more.My creation by you.

Also got to spend time with my sweet nieces and nephew.  My creation by you.

My brother and lovely sister-in-law, Katherine, are way more ambitious than us, and threw a great shindig.  We helped out some, but they did all the planning, buying, preparing, etc.  The thing I love about events like this are the mixture of generations, and the squeals and laughter as the kids run around.  And you can tell the kids are just giddy with the fact that they are free – just enough supervision to keep them safe, but no one keeping tabs on how many sodas they’ve had or nagging them about this or that, or telling them it’s time to get ready for bed even though the sky is dark and the stars are out.  And maybe that’s how we all felt, like kids again, playing and laughing under the brilliant sky, and for a few hours not fussing about life.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Patricia says:

    Oh, I wish I had the energy to do something like that! The day sounds just perfect, and the kids will treasure that memory. Your photos capture the day beautifully!

  2. ellen kelley says:

    What a wonderful, fabulous memory-maker. Such special times with such special people…whee!

  3. man, i wish i was 10 years old again!

  4. simpledaisy says:

    Hi there…
    Looks like you had a great time!! I especially liked the photo the bobbing for apples!! Time with family is always so precious!!!

  5. Lil' d says:

    That looks like fun. I just can’t get into the Autumn frame of mind, yet – it’s still hot here…

  6. annayama says:

    Wow that looks like soooo much fun!! 😀 I’m with fish, I wish I was 10 again, then again, I wish that I could have taken CT the Explorer. I can see her having so much fun. 🙂

  7. jacquie says:

    this looks like a fabulous time! i love watching kids bob for apples!

  8. mayaluna says:

    This looks like such a magical day…how incredible for you’re whole family! Have I told you before how much I admire your writing style. Your words can make me laugh out loud or send me into a reverie about some other sweet world. You have a real gift and I always am excited for fresh Jackie posts…I get a little giddy!

  9. molly says:

    i wish i was ambitious enough to host a pumpkin festival. for years i’ve been talking about planting a pumpkin patch and having the neighbors over to pick a pumpkin and have some homemade pumpkin beer, but have yet to even plant a seed. maybe next year. looks like a wonderful shindig indeed!

  10. Nancy says:

    Wow, looks like a great time for all!!

  11. Martha says:

    Great pics and mosaic!
    Looks like a wonderful celebration!
    I like how you described “no one keeping tabs on how many sodas they’ve had” !
    What fun!

  12. mom says:

    Hi Aunt Jackie, we love the pictures of the pumpkin scrum!!!!
    We are spending the week at Grandma E’s and Poppop’s house
    so Mom Dad and Brody could go to the funeral and to Mexico.
    i am writing notes on stick notes on Poppop’s desk(Lily) Hi says Lily. Eleanor wants to talk to you. So we will call.

    I know Nate must have been very disappointed about Santa,
    because only Santa could find a white tux. Love, Grandma E

Leave a Reply

