I’m Back!!

Just like Michael from the Halloween films, or a painful carbuncle, or your annoying cousin Lewis, or the relentless political ads (Thank you Lord we have arrived at election day)!  It’s very hard to get rid of me….. Even trying to get ready for a garage sale (the two most evil words in the whole entire universe) will not keep me away this week.  How else could I have thrown in this random image of a carnival ride or the following random image of a shopping cart in someone’s yard (well other than in flickr land I mean)?

carnival ride by you.

what every yard needs, just add a car on blocks and a pit bull.... by you.

Whilst I was gone I did manage to do some creative things, although none of them are finished yet – typical!  And if anyone else is struggling with getting the Illuminated Phrase finished, no worries.  Since I am in charge I decree the finish date as the last day of November.  And I’m so dang excited because I DID IT!  I successfully made my first batch of homemade yogurt.  YUM.  And I cooked quinoa for the first time too.  Again YUM.  And I cleaned out a closet, painted the hall, cleaned out my front flower bed, took kids to the orthodontist, and retrieved our stolen vehicle from the lock up.  Saturday in the a.m. hours someone stole our Beast from the driveway and took it joy riding through someone’s barbed wire fence and abandoned it there in the field.  Now I’m off to our insurance agent’s to give him the towing bill and other information.  So, life, yeah, blah, blah, blah……..

Here are my works in progress, and I’m almost afraid to check in with you all as it may take me a few days to get back up to speed.  And if you are in the Thanksgiving mood, check out the 30 days of gratitude.

Part of my Illuminated Phrase……..

Illuminated Phrase wip by you.

Little people and their house pouch, soon to be on their way to a certain little girl in Singapore.  Any recommendations on what to seal the painted dolls with – something child friendly and non-toxic??  Painting these little things takes nerves of steel!  I’m not nearly steady or neat enough.

little people and their house pouch by you.

A felt cuff.

felt cuff by you. 

A soon to be origami crane mobile, made from an old atlas.

old map origami wip by you.

Item # 13 for the Scavenger Project, artwork on balloon courtesy of Nate.  He said the balloon guy has a cold, and that’s why his nose is red.

010350381

11 Comments Add yours

  1. welcome back! looove the works in progress. and hearing about all of the adventures, from yogurt making to joyrides (i swear, it wasn’t me!). and big relief on the illuminated phrase extension. i will still probably procrastinate until the last minute, but i will be thinking about a new approach until then (last approach just wasn’t what i wanted).

  2. amy says:

    you are on fire! I can’t decide to covet the beetle or the people (what does that say about me?)…enjoyed much! And I super-love the shopping cart pic.

  3. Oooooooh, lots of crafty goodness. You were a mighty busy young lady. I’m glad to have you back. Are you here to stay or are you just stopping by?

    I hope you will let us know what you coat the little wooden people with. I have bought the wooden pieces, but have yet to bring them to life….or even open the plastic bag.

    Someone stole your truck. Wow. Did it look so awful before they stole it or did all that come from the barbed wire? I’m kind of surprised they didn’t get beheaded or something running through that. What a great Halloween story that would have been! Memorable!

    I should take a hiatus from the web. I have been online 85% of the day checking election stuff. I even forgot to attend a class tonight that I COULD NOT MISS. Ugh.

    Anyway, good to see you, Dahling! You have been missed.

  4. ellen kelley says:

    Glad you are back…it’s so dark here, I can hardly type anyway, add the dark and call it a wash.

  5. Diane says:

    Welcome back! Hurray!

  6. Ayama says:

    Hurray you’re back. 😀

    I love the balloon guy. Nate definately knows how to think out of the box.

    Someone chose to joy ride the BEAST?? Evil sodding toe rags. What a hassle all round. Dealing with insurance company, shudders. Simply love how they put you on hold for so loooong. It is at times like these that CT’s eyes light up and look for trouble..

    Will have to send the little brother your way for a trip down memory lane, he was a trolley boy way back when he was in high school. Seeing trolleys where they shouldn’t be still makes his blood boil.

    You have been busy on the crafty front. Like the beginnings of that mobile. I made a 1000 cranes when I was in my senior year at high school. My wish?? To pass and get into the course of my first choice. Senior year was not easy for me. The cuff is also beautiful.

    If the peg people are for a certain little person we know, I will pass a trade secret on about her. She doesn’t put toys in her mouth anymore. Surely varnish would not kill that Aussie/Japanese Singapore Slinging tot.

  7. Ayama says:

    Oh congratulations on your new President.

  8. Good to have you back!
    I would seal the little people with Modge Podge. I am pretty sure it is non-toxic–however, I will not stake my life on it. You can get it in gloss or matte finish. It is brush on stuff. (you probably already know all this….)
    Have a wonderful day.

  9. mayaluna says:

    I missed you soooo much! You’ve been so busy accomplishing greatness and making lovely things! I really find each one incredible! My favorite is the atlas peace crane. I make cranes each year around the holidays and was thinking this year I needed to try a different material… you’ve got me all excited! Every time I see one of your gorgeous cuffs, I think I have to try one…

    thank goodness for the Illuminated phrase extension… I’ve completed it in my head… several times over… now maybe I can get it down into some form I can share. Your beetle took my breath away. I missed you… I missed you!

  10. Patricia says:

    So much crafty goodness to comment on, I can’t decide where to start (plus I’m still picking that dang barbed wire out of my clothes).

    I’d go with the Mod Podge for the cute little peeps. But I’ve also been wanting to try melted beeswax. Let me know if you give it a shot.

    Gorgeous stitching on the beetle; the felt cuff is a beautiful extension of your earlier work; I’ve got to try those origami atlas cranes–what’s a peacenik version of “they are the bomb”?

  11. aimee says:

    those painted dolls are fabulous and so are your atlas origami pieces! wow!

Leave a Reply

