Alchemy

Alchemy – 2. a method or power of transmutation; esp., the seemingly miraculous change of a thing into something better.  In this case to take butter, sugar, chocolate, and pecans and turn it into something miraculous (i.e. English toffee)!

When you make this, make sure you won’t be interrupted.  It requires constant stirring and the candy gets extremely hot.

2 C. butter (NO substitutions-do you hear me, NONE of that funky margarine stuff!!)

2 C. sugar

12 oz. package chocolate chips

2 C. pecans finely chopped (I use my small food processer)

Warm a rimmed baking sheet in the oven.  Combine butter and sugar in a large heavy-bottomed saucepan.  (I use my dutch oven)  Cook over high heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon until mixture reaches the soft crack stage (280 degrees F. on a candy thermometer).  Reduce heat to medium-high and continue stirring constantly.  When mixture reaches the hard crack stage (300 degrees F. on candy thermometer), pour mixture onto baking sheet and spread with rubber spatula.  (Mixture will not cover entire baking sheet.)  Immediately sprinkle with chocolate chips and let set 5 minutes.  Spread chocolate until smooth.  Sprinkle with nuts and gently press into warm chocolate.  Cool uncovered in refrigerator.  When chocolate hardens, break into bite size pieces.  Makes 3 pounds.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. vanessa says:

    i came over from cornflower blue studio. i like your blog, and english toffee sounds amazing! i need to try it for sure!

  2. Ayama says:

    Thank you Smooth all round great gal and alchemist of the highest order. I’m going off to convert this baby into metric as, you have given me another Christmas gift idea (your check is in the mail). It will go well with tea towels and drawstring bags. 😀

  3. MichelleB says:

    My goodness, this looks so good. And it sounds deceptively easy. I wonder if I could actually do it.

  4. smoothpebble says:

    It really is easy, you’ll know when the mixture is close because the color becomes a dark caramely color and more cohesive. The only hard part is to keep stirring so it doesn’t burn or stick on the bottom of the saucepan.

  5. I’m the pecan queen for Christmas gifts. I’ll have to add this to my repertoire.

  6. Martha says:

    This is a great recipe!
    The only problem I have had with it, is how much of it I eat!!!

Leave a Reply

