The power of the people

Christmas may be over, but now we all have a chance to give a huge gift to makers of handmade toys, clothing and other items intended for children.   The CPSIA (Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act) was put in place to protect consumers from tainted goods, brought on by the contaminated products coming from China.  The problem is it will have a devastating effect on people making handmade items in the USA, Canada, Europe, and other countries.  The CPSIA requires third party testing of these products, and the fees for this testing are astronomical for small, independent companies.  We are talking about fees around $4000 per toy. 

And it’s these small, independent, handmade products that a lot of us turned to as a beautiful alternative to mass produced, eco-negligent, and possibly dangerous products.  So here is my plea –  if you are of the mind to help change the CPSIA to either waive these third party testing requirements or have testing made available for free by the US Consumer Product Safety Commission please click on the link in my sidebar.  Read more there and sign the online petition here.  The Handmade Toy Alliance also has links to find the addresses for your Congress person and State Senators.  Write to them, and also to the US Consumer Product Safety Commission. 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. girl! I don’t know what rock I’ve been under , but I wasn’t aware that you had a blog! I found out when you featured my friend michelle’s (blue moss) necklace on your site!

    I just always look at the flickr pages:)

    I’m so glad that I know now!! It is such a fantastic blog, and your photography is so beautiful!! I’m going to add you to my blog favorites list!!

    Hope you had a wonderful Christmas!!

  2. Claudia says:

    OMG! That is horrible!
    I’m glad that you wrote this post so more people will know about this situation.

  3. trish says:

    I signed the petition. I certainly hope this doesn’t become a reality.

  4. jacquie says:

    i signed, i wrote! just want to sent some late christmas wishes too! hope it was lovely!

Leave a Reply

