Snow days!!

silvery-toed slippers by you.

Well I’ve got blog posts piling up in my head, as if they were vehicles queuing up behind a stalled car at a busy intersection.  And some of them are starting to honk at me, and give me the finger.  But what can you do when the ice and snow have piled up and the kids are home from school and the sleds and camera are calling out to you…..

Snow Day!!! by you.

frozen by you.

winter's fireworks by you.

lonely frozen bench by you.

In my moss tutorial I forgot to tell you how I made the mushrooms.  I found these little knobs at the craft store.  I found them in the unfinished wood section at the craft store.  Where you would find the peg people, and wooden beads, that kind of thing.  And then I primed, painted, and sealed them.

jan-12-2009-walkabout-086

30000310

300031121

  • I’m trying to decide what word to choose for Shutter Sistersone word project
  • And I’ve received two responses to my letters to help Save Handmade.  A personal phone call from my Senators office, and a letter from my congressman.  The bill is getting more consideration and they have already made exemptions for resellers such as e-bay sellers.  Resellers will not be required to test children’s products for compliance with the lead limit.  But it still remains to be seen if these same exemptions will be given to hand crafters.  Keep your fingers crossed!

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Diane says:

    I love that picture of the gang of boys — what a crew!

    WAIT!!! You are getting the camera?!?!?!

    I may collapse under the weight of the next few days before the 10th… How could such a thing come to pass?! I’m still waiting to hear from my reps. Certainly they’ll be calling me… any minute…

  2. wooooo! congratulations on getting the camera! and stay warm, it looks pretty dang cold down there… *cough*ha!*cough*

  3. MichelleB says:

    Lovely pictures. I so enjoyed seeing them. Congrats on the camera and on the picture in the book!

  4. Ayama says:

    Wow you are publish now too. Note to self must keep yours, Fish’s and MPC’s autographs, seeing you are all infamous now. 🙂

    Love the distractions you have been getting. Men cubs and tottering cubs, do tend to distract somewhat. I am just lucky mine still naps, yours do not. 😀 Hope they have been doing the dishes for you seeing that growning men cubs tend to eat you out of house and home and they are not clumsy like my cub and do not break plates on the tiles. And you lucky thing, you are cold. I’ll send my it-is-so-hot-that-you-sweat-while-sitting-and-doing-nada weather to you, shall I??

    Wow in all the time I have written letters of petition for various things, I have been ignored. 2 responses, may be your style is much better than mine.

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I hope the new toy has a post dedicated to its fabulousness. Can’t wait to see what you can do with a ‘professional’ tool. Your point and shoot pictures are amazing, what will SLR pictures be like???

  5. Patricia says:

    Your boys finally got snow! Hooray! We had yet another snow day on Wednesday, and I was so into the sledding and snowball making (with the kids, I hasten to add) that I wound up completely sore the next day. I’m lame, I know.

    Yay for the new camera, yay for your book, yay for all the posts we’ll soon see! Your little break done you some good. I spent the week blissfully unplugged, though I can’t say that it inspired any backlog of new posts. Oh, well.

    I totally agree with Ayama–your pix are breathtaking, and what loveliness will soon be in store for us with the SLR?

  6. Claudia says:

    wow, so much action in your life!
    yeah, I’m sitting on the sofa (I’m a little sick) so not much action on my side. see, it’s all a question of balance 😉

  7. threesneakybugs says:

    I’m sitting on the couch with Eleanor and she’s pretty jazzed about all the dog pics. That Scavenger Project’s a pretty nifty thing. As for the shrooms, I thought you bought them! Nicely done.

  8. molly says:

    oh i know all about the backup on the internal blog queue. pile up on the innerstate! but sometimes you just need to post about local news with random bits and pieces. looks like those boys could eat you out of house and home after a good day of sledding. can’t wait to see what you do with your new camera! and anxious to find out what word you choose for this year.

  9. simpledaisy says:

    How wonderful that you are getting your camera!! I love your photos…even though I am not a fan of winter!!! Let’s see…one word….it would have to be happy!! Not sure if that fits into what you’re doing or not!! But that’s my word!!
    Take care~~

  10. jacquie says:

    what a great picture of the guys…i’m imagining all the fun they had!

  11. You got a personal call from your politician’s offices??????? Wow!!!!! That is pretty dog goned impressive. I think that my local politicos live so close to Washington, they think they’re too big for their britches to call the unwashed masses.

    That is the coolest thing to see your dog photo in a book!!! Hahaha. You’re famous!!!

    Your photos from the big snow are gorgeous. I think my favorites are the one on the top of the post and the pine tree. Did you Photoshop the colors in the first one? They are gorgeous. The pine tree I love because it looks like a garden plant instead of a pine.

    All those boys!!! Wow. I bet you do some nonstop cleaning with all those big fellows trompsing around. Wish I was out sledding with them though.

  12. Ellie says:

    I love the mental imagery of your future blog posts flipping you the bird. . .I can relate.

  13. Nancy says:

    Congrats on the camera! Snazzy! Love the photos–Caroline’s holding out for more snow here. Thanks for the instruct on the m’rooms. Crafty Carrie and I just might try it.

  14. Leslie says:

    Oh, a new camera! How exciting is that? You are going to have so much fun. I love the mushrooms and now I really need to make a terrarium as a home for the ones you sent to me!

  15. Ellen says:

    Looks like your day was filled with fun and relaxation and lots of cold.

    Come for a visit – I’m helping to spread the news about a fabric giveaway!

Leave a Reply

