Not I…..

dsc_0066_01

“Who will help me plant these peas in our spring garden?”  The Little Red Hen asks.    “Not I,” said the Rooster.  “Not I,” said the eldest Chick.  “Not I,” said the middle Chick.  “Not I,” said the youngest Chick.  “Then I will plant them myself,” said The Little Red Hen.  And that’s exactly what she did.

dsc_0069_01

14 Comments Add yours

  1. I never know when to plant. Is it time now? jan

  2. arg! i’m gonna scream! you’re planting?!!!

  3. Ellen says:

    Wow?! You’re planting already? You must live in a warmer planting zone than I.

  4. simplyblogged says:

    lol. cute.

  5. threesneakybugs says:

    Love it! Especially the shot with dirt on your hands. I can’t see any dirt around here. It’s buried under 5 inches of snow.

  6. kristin says:

    just like my fellow winter wonderlanders commenting before me…i just can’t believe you’re getting your hands in the dirt already. got me craving beans! 🙂

  7. Ayama says:

    Man I want to live in a place where I can have some plants. We don’t even have a balcony and don’t get enough light for indoor plants. Sigh, these chicks would have gladly helped. 😀

  8. Ellie says:

    SHUT UP!! It’s time to plant peas in Missouri already?? I gots to get with it!

  9. smoothpebble says:

    Before everyone gets their knickers twisted – yes I did plant peas, which are a cool weather crop and take 70 days to mature, so I had to plant them now. But, and it’s a big butt, it’s a total crap-shoot as to whether they will make it. There is every chance in the world they will get frozen out, but I had to try. I’ve never done it before, and my gardening mentor said to plant them now. If they succeed, maybe I’ll share! : )

  10. ellen kelley says:

    No panties in a wad here! I wish you luck with the peas..who knows, wonders never cease. It is time for me to get some seeds started and I think we can even start more tender ones here, although we still could have freezes and snow. It’s just a little bit of a safer bet here in W. Or.
    Hoping that the weather gods smile on your patch!
    I’ll grow you some fantastic cool weather crops here if you will grow me some tomatoes that taste and smell like yummy tomatoes.
    Cheers…

  11. mayaluna says:

    Nothing better than planting peas… except maybe doing it in February!!! I’ll wait another month… or TWO. But look what’s growing on my blog… hee hee!

  12. Sarah S. says:

    I am planting peas this weekend, they are the best! I can’t wait until they are ready to eat! so easy to grow!

  13. steph says:

    I’ve been getting that a LOT lately, too. By now, gardening has become a ho-hum activity–they figure they know all there is to know. I’ll show them! 😉

Leave a Reply

