tagged

 piney-creek-hike-oct-2008-0084

 

I was tagged by Anna (Sew What) to open the 6th folder on my computer, and find the 6th picture.  Then post it with a description.  Then tag 6 others to play along.  What I found was this odd little picture from a hike with my peeps.  Inside of a hollow log were these shells from some kind of nut.  But what I remember mostly from this hike was that it took forever and ended up being miles and miles.  At one point no one was sure where we were or how much farther we had to go, and in a snit I plunged into the creek and started walking down it rather than try to hack my way through the foliage.  But then it just became funny and when we finally made it back to our starting point it felt like we had conquered the wilderness. 

Snits are a frequent coping mechanism for me out in the wilderness.  I’ve been known to smack the water with my canoeing paddle and let loose with a stream of forbidden language after getting the canoe caught up in a rootwad (a fallen tree with its roots reaching out to grab canoes paddled by idiots like me).   And if we are on a long excursion without proper snacks, preferably something with chocolate, then you don’t want to be anywhere near me because it will not be pretty.  I’d be the one hiding and hoarding my food in a survival situation.  “Chocolate, what chocolate?” *wiping the evidence from my lips*

Here are a few more pictures from that day.  Thanks Anna for the little trip back in time!  piney-creek-hike-oct-2008-0381

piney-creek-hike-oct-2008-023

piney-creek-hike-oct-2008-065

piney-creek-hike-oct-2008-0281

piney-creek-hike-oct-2008-0531

I’m tagging these folks to play if they want to…..no telling where it might lead them.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    Great pictures and story. It made me laugh…picturing you throwing yourself into the stream and trudging through…although it probably wasn’t funny at the time…

    I’d love to participate in this…it sounds fun and easy. Easy is good right now 🙂

    If you don’t mind me asking, I was also wondering what kind of lens you had on your d60 to take these pictures? I’m researching cameras right now (to get one eventually) and I love the light quality in your photographs.

  2. Ellie says:

    I just posted my Picture #6!! Thanks for the invite. . .I was so excited to discover what the 6th, 6th picture was. I also played along with a One Word e-mail that a good friend sent me. It was a fun day to be tagged! Gave me an excuse to take a midterm study break. . .

    Best,
    Cabin Girl

  3. simplyblogged says:

    thanks for tagging me! I will get mine posted soon.

  4. Ayama says:

    Lovely photo (one wonders if you EVER take a bad one) and great story. 😀 Snits and cussing go hand in hand in my world, the only thing is I tend to cuss in Japanese (a habit I picked up at college/uni). Needless to say I nearly died of embarassment at my outlaws when Nina let off a cuss when she was in a snit. (Though for a moment there the look on the outlaws’ faces was priceless…) I am curious did your feet get wet? It looks a little cool in these photos so I hope your piggies didn’t get too cold and crinkley wrinkley. Looks like the mencubs enjoyed themselves a lot. 😀 Thanks for sharing and now I will have to check out the people you tagged. 😀

  5. melinda says:

    hickory nuts…I think!

  6. simplyblogged says:

    I finally have it posted. Yay!

  7. Martha says:

    Thanks Jackie!
    I’ve posted my pic and story!

Leave a Reply

