mobile

22003249

Circles cut from linen and denim.  Then heavily starched with spray starch and ironed within an inch of their lives.  This made them nice and stiff.

240415552

Then they were stitched together using the same technique Maya used for her hanging snowflakes.

25043942

Next I strung them from a wire wreath form (next time I would use something more aesthetically pleasing).

linen and denim mobile by you.

More things with linen and denim circles – a one strand tiny mobile and a gift bag.

little linen mobile by you.

linen gift bag by you.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Ayama says:

    what simple pleasures, jackie. lovely indeed. 😀

  2. melinda says:

    every bit of it lovely! VERY JEALOUS of all your crafting time of late…but also very happy for you!

  3. Ellen says:

    Very cool. I’ve thought about this type of mobile, (stitching through circles idea) but haven’t done it yet. It reminds me of very thin seashells or Lunaria, the silver dollar plant.

  4. simplyblogged says:

    very cute. I have seen this done with felt but never thought of doing it through denim. very clever.

  5. love it.

    why-o-why did i sign up for the mobile swap?! tomorrow is the deadline, and i have nothing. my original idea didn’t turn out, and i’m probably going to rely on the trusty circles. a little more wine, and i may just be able to whip something up. (i hope!)

  6. MichelleB says:

    I love them! They’re great. So simple and wonderful.

  7. Leslie says:

    This looks very familiar 🙂 Looks like you’ve got quite a production line going now!

  8. I love the bag. It’s simple and that’s the elegance of the thing. I love the circle design. I think if you created a symbol for yourself, it would involve circles.

    Are you doing another mobile swap? jan

    P.S. I continue to send folks to your post about the drawing stuck in the hymnal. (….giggle…..)

  9. these are super duper! 🙂

  10. i love this so much! super great

  11. Batspit says:

    I’ve become totally addicted to mobiles of late– i fully blame you.

  12. ellen kelley says:

    I love this…I feel as if I am looking up at lovely round clouds…clouds that if they rained on me, would be warm and comforting.

  13. simpledaisy says:

    Great ideas!! I love to repurpose things I already have!!
    Take care~~

  14. pamela says:

    i found this photo on flickr last february and bookmarked it. i’d love to try and make one in my baby’s room! i really, really love it.

  15. pamela says:

    hi jackie! well, i did it. i tried to make a mobile similar to yours. it isn’t as hip and it’s definitely not as professional. but we are happy with it. thanks so much for the inspiration! i’m so glad that after months of looking at yours i finally have one of my own. and just in time since today is our due date. 🙂

    i posted a photo on our blog if you’d like to see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

