upcycle vs. recycle

 Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful words to us about my grandmother!  I can’t even express what they mean to me, and how comforting it is to have your thoughts and prayers.  I so appreciate it!

bits of spring by you.

Now I don’t know about you, but between having to get up an hour earlier today (see my reaction to this last year) and all the doom and gloom news about the economy and the environment I’m feeling the need for something a little brighter today.  I only have to look to mother nature to find it.  Bits of spring are popping up all over the place. 

So in honor of spring and all of its signs of freshness and renewal let’s talk a bit about recycling and upcycling.   Looking at the definitions on wikipedia there really isn’t much difference between the two terms.  Recycling seems to have more to do with breaking down the original material and reforming it into more of the same or a new material.  Upcycling seems to mean  salvaging something that would have gone to waste, and fixing it up, or creating a new use for it.  

I started the Furniture Redo pool about a year ago as a place to share upcycled furniture.  There are some amazing things there.  Two of my favorite furniture upcyclers and Furniture Redo contributers are Barb from Knack Studios and Thomas Wold of Readymade fame.   Barb takes old furniture, and with her paint and magic creates the most stunning pieces.  In fact I’ve told her that if I win the lottery I’m commissioning her to redo all of my furniture and to design my interior spaces.   Thomas Wold is a master at fitting together a myriad of pieces into very functional and modern furniture.  I think he is pure genius!  Also check out ATLITW’s flickr home set for more fun furniture.  Anyway, I made a couple of mosaics of my favorites from the group pool.  The first set is of pieces that are subtle and neutral and could fit in most any decor.  The second set is furniture that makes a bold statement.  I hope you’ll be inspired.  With a little elbow grease, some paint, and creativity you could turn that curbside find into a treasure!

Neutral favorites by you.

Bold favorites

6 Comments Add yours

  1. molly says:

    the dresser with the tree has been on my radar for well over a year now! thanks for sharing such a treasure of inspiration.

  2. Patricia says:

    You are the one who I need to thank for introducing me to Knack Studio! She really is a genius!

  3. Verity says:

    Hey! I just wanted to let you know that we just made a terrarium using your tutorial (found via Maya*Made) and we had so much fun! Thank you!

  4. Patricia says:

    AND . . . I LOVE your bird photo collage. The photos are extraordinary! Thanks also for the reminder of Thomas Wold’s collaged furniture. Everything he makes is so fun and happy.

  5. jackie… you’re the best! Thank you, thank you! XOXO

  6. ellen kelley says:

    Wonderful inspiration here..now I just have to move some place where there are actual sidewalks!

Leave a Reply

