Project Improv

I can only think of a few occasions where I have impulsively published a post.  This is one of them.  I just spent all day working on my block for Jacquie’s quilting Project Improv.  I’m am so excited I might burst.  Thus this impulsive post.  For years I have admired the quilts of Gee’s Bend and Denyse Schmidt.   I love the way they seem so spontaneous and energetic.  The Gee’s Bends quilts were made out of neccesity using what scraps those women had available – but my gosh they are gorgeous works of art.  With the visions of those quilts in my mind I have dreamed of trying my hand at creating my own patterns for a quilt.  Well, today I actually made this block.  

finished block by you.

I’m disappointed in the pictures, because the pieces that are teal green in the photo are actually kelly green.   The other colors aren’t quite right in these photos either.  But I loved the stained glass effect when I held it up to the window. 

closeup by you.

patchwork wip by you.

stained glass patchwork by you.

I can’t tell you how much fun this was to make.  It was like piecing together a puzzle without the lid to guide you.  There were moments of perplexment (is that a word?), but in the end I did it!!  It’s probably not as simple as my original idea, but sometimes you just have to jump in and figure it out as you go.  So pardon my enthusiasm, it can’t be held in.  I don’t have time right now to make all the links.  But I will edit this post later when I have time.  One other thing,  I was reading this post and have plans to do this, but until then I’ve been putting my dryer lint in the bushes.  It’s an experiment and we are watching to see if the birds are taking it.

dsc_0002_02

15 Comments Add yours

  1. ellen kelley says:

    Oh, my goodness….it is beautiful!…and perplexment is a perfectly good word…something that experience every day.

    Give yourself a high five for creating such beauty.

  2. melinda says:

    well, all this impulsivity and perplexment…it pretty d*mnn gorgeous it is! great job! woootwooot!

  3. steph says:

    it’s beautiful! I have a stack of prewashed fabric just ready to go, when I’m ready, and seeing this gets me excited to start. Hey, I think those birds might like the random dryer lint! I don’t think the presentation matters a bit 😉

  4. Ooooh, maybe you have invented something new. Quilt “stained windows”. They certainly look as beautiful as the real deal.

    I’m interested in the dryer lint in the tree. Did you put it there as nest fodder for the birds?

  5. I have been inspired and inspired again to get back to playing with quilting. I really appreciate your excitement and your spontaneous post. And THANK YOU for the link to the amazing post about offerings for the birds. I love this! We do some of this at home, but not to this extent. I have a new idea now for what to do with the multitude of natural fiber scraps I have stored up 🙂

  6. Ayama says:

    I am in love. CT’s room needs curtains to match her quilt. I can’t think of a better way of designing them. Off to fave your photos on flikr. 😀

  7. MichelleB says:

    The block is fabulous. I love it. I need to get going on my Project Improv blocks, too.

  8. trish says:

    I love the idea of putting out compostable things for birds to use in their nest! I think I’ll start with my dryer lint, like you, and see what happens. Thanks for the great idea! I’ll be bookmarking the link you gave that had more ideas. 🙂

  9. jackie, the block is beautiful, and your excitement is contagious and inspiring! i love those moments while creating where it’s just “happening” and the immense sense of pride & accomplishment after…. such a joy!

    yesterday was amazingly warm and springlike, and as i brushed the dogs, little house sparrows would swoop down and grab discarded hair for their nests. it helped my insides thaw a bit!

  10. applecyder says:

    I am so glad the process made you so happy. I love that feeling, and love reading about it when someone else has that experience. It is beautiful, esp the window shots.

    Jacquie’s “little” project is amazing. Some amazing quilts are being created. So fun!

  11. jacquie says:

    it’s so wonderful…i love that feeling when you’re so excited that you simply have to share it! great job!!!!

  12. Lori says:

    Wow! Your quilt block design is beautiful! I love it!!!

  13. aimee says:

    wow!! so cool! i love the bright colors and lines – kind of like frank lloyd wright meets matisse. hope to see you in lawrence this summer!! 🙂

  14. Roseanna says:

    Hi, I have an article on my blog about “helping the birds”. Check it out if you like!

    Love the improvisation…

  15. Patricia says:

    You have pretty dryer lint. The birds should be thrilled!

    Where to begin with your lovely experiment? I L-O-V-E it. It makes me itch to go unearth my sewing machine from the mountain of unfinished projects that it’s buried under right now. Almost. Cuz first I’d have to hack through the coffee sacks that are covering the floor and blocking the door to the sewing room. And did you know that my clothes closet is also in the sewing room? Let’s just say that it’s a very good thing that I don’t have to work outside the home!

Leave a Reply

