New identity

dsc_0017_010

I figured something out this week.  Are you ready?  Because it’s pretty amazing, and probably applies to you as well!  The past week or two I’ve discussed composting and making my own detergent.  When I saw the recipes for detergent I could not get over how excited I was.  I started thinking I must be a little coo coo for getting so excited by something like homemade detergent.  However, I started digging deeper into this feeling, and realized it wasn’t just excitement, it was a feeling of empowerment as well.  Also it’s not the first time I’ve had these feelings.  I had also felt this way when I discovered a community of people who valued the art of homemaking.   I don’t mean the art of keeping the house sparkly clean.  I mean the art of nurturing relationships.  The art of fixing a meal with thought to where the food comes from, and a deep sense of being present in the process of creating that meal.  The art of finding new uses for old things.  The art of handcrafting something beautiful and useful.  I think over the years I’ve evolved into one of these people.  Maybe you have too.

That of course brings me to the excitement of discovering this great, big, wonderful online community of craftspeople and artists.  And the excitement of tapping into my own creative process.   It’s always thrilling too, when one of these kind and generous people share their creative process.  Maybe you have discovered your creativity or been one of those people who shared a tutorial so that others could create.  Throw in the mix the excitement of sending and receiving gifts from the hands and heart.   Doing our little part in keeping the postal services in business. 

Let’s talk a little about the choices we make in our day to day lives.  Some of us choose to shop locally whenever possible, ride a bike instead of drive,  volunteer in our communities, make do with less, grow our own garden,  keep our thermostat on energy saving settings, use re-usable grocery sacks.   A myriad of choices that some of us have chosen to be informed and intentional about.

Maybe you have used your blog, or another forum to help spread the word about something.  Hoping against  hope that by doing so you could change a political process, increase awareness,  provide supportshare beauty, or help “bring heaven to earth” in the words of Rob Bell.   So, this is where my little revelation came into being.  I had always thought of activists as people who marched with giant placards.  People who put themselves between trees and bulldozers, or between weapon bearing whalers and whales.  People who traveled half way around the world setting up medical clinics in third world countries.  People with big offices and teams of lawyers.  Yes, there are certainly those kind of activists.  But guess what – I’m an activist too!!  I’m willing to bet the farm that you are an activist too, although you may have never thought of yourself this way.  The sense of excitement I’ve been feeling – well it’s a great big bubble of hope!  Knowing that we, meaning you and I, can truly make a difference.  So, my fellow activists, what will you do today?

p.s.  Just so you know –  I’m not the only one who is coo coo about composting, check out Patricia’s post on the subject.

p.s.s.   I’ve been in another bubble of excitement this week!  I won a Diana camera, and the book Everyone is Beautiful with my laundry basket photo for the March one word project on Shutter Sisters.

signs of spring by you.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Melinda says:

    So I’m just sitting here, with the stupid grin one gets when they just happen to be so proud of someone they love , so happy and proud they will burst!

    Super Great job you!

    And, you know, we have all known for some time that you are all of these lovely things you accuse us of, and much, much more!

  2. Debbie E says:

    I love living green tho,you will have to send me that recipe for detergent cause I do believe even the ones that have nothing,,do have SOMETHING and just arent telling me 😦

  3. threesneakybugs says:

    First, I have that exact same laundry basket and mine has never looked so beautiful. Must be the photographer.

    Second, yes, you are an activist! And this is a very inspiring post. Thank you.

  4. simplyblogged says:

    yay! congratulations.

  5. Ayama says:

    congratulations and i guess i am an activist with you. thanks for the insight but may be you are further down the road than i am. 🙂 thanks for beautiful thoughts to start my day.

  6. molly says:

    i love your identity – and i can identify with it too. well said and well done!

  7. Patricia says:

    First off, congratulations on the Shutter Sisters win!! It’s so well-deserved. The basket/blossom combo is stunning and very inspired! I like the way you see the world.

    And thank you for the sweet, beautiful post (even if you did call me coo coo; as long as we can be nuts together, I’m absolutely fine with that). 😉 The sentiment you expressed is right on, because we all do make a difference every day in little ways, and I love how you built up to your personal revelation. Right now I think I’ll do my part and turn off my computer!!

  8. Nancy says:

    Very creative photo!! Appreciate with your thoughts. We’re going green in a lot of ways, too. We have such a disposable society — I think it’s slowly turning the corner thanks to folks like you.

  9. today i will clean my toilet with vinegar and baking soda, with a splash of lavender oil, and i will feel wonderful as i scrub away to the scent of lavender fields….

  10. applecyder says:

    painted fish is cracking me up! yep, you are right about being “quiet activists….

    well deserved win, btw!!!

  11. YOU ARE AWESOME!

    Congrats on the camera loot! That is fantasmic! 🙂

  12. Congratulations on your win – and thanks for the reminder to pack the reusable grocery bags when I set off for the store in a minute…

Leave a Reply

