Odds and Ends

dsc_0003_070

Yesterday we celebrated Everett’s 14th birthday!  This is the boy that used to randomly scream for no reason, jump off of furniture head first, eat all of the marshmallows out of the lucky charms, bite, and you can’t really tell but in this picture he is up to his knees in mud (with a little dab on his face).   The boy I used to describe  as energy under pressure, like a can of soda all shook up.  My 1,000,000 questions man.  “What would happen if……I put a pickle in the microwave, would it explode?  I put a toothpick in the flame of a candle?  I put a bug in some kool-aid and put it in the freezer?”  “If all three of us kids were being washed away by a tidal wave and you could only save one of us, which one would it be?”  “Do you think I could get a football scholarship to a good college?”  “If I ate a whole loaf of beer bread, do you think I would fail a breathalyzer test?”  on and on and on……Here is his birthday list:

  • Rock Band for the Wii
  • bigger bed
  • new earphones for ipod
  • red duffel bag
  • good movie/book
  • money/gift cards
  • coffee maker for my room

So are we terrible parents?  He now has a coffee station in his room.  A 4 cup Mr. Coffee, along with sugar cubes, creamer packets, and his own mug.  We were tired of sharing our coffee.  I know, I know – terrible parents!  So, changing the subject….here are a few things I’m working on.

Changing up this china cabinet.  Which is just a jumble of clutter.

21230430

dsc_0001_066

 Making things.  Origami peace crane mobiles.

peace crane mobile by you.

Reusable coffee sleeves.

reusable coffee sleeves by you.

And some Wycinanki papercuts.  Saw one on Anna’s blog, so I google searched for more patterns.  Curses on the big crease down the middle!

wycinanki papercut by you.

Some of these projects are for my PIF (pay it forward).  As soon as I get them in the mail I’ll let you know so you can stalk the recipients blogs to try and get packages from them.

 I may be absent from here for a little while.  I’m feeling a bit short on words these days.   I also feel like I’m on the verge of some creative direction that I would like to ponder for a bit, and roll the ideas around in my head before I make any decisions.  I’m planning on just observing what you all are up to for a while.  That sounds just right for now.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. happy birthday to your boy. he sounds like one kick-ass kiddo. must be the kick-ass mom of his. loving your latest creations. happy pondering!

  2. aimee says:

    oh those coffee sleeves are just tremendous! keep making beautiful goodies like that and you’ll have plenty to talk about! you could also bring a toddler into your house for an afternoon and then you would REALLY have plenty to talk about.

    p.s. happy birthday to the birthday boy!

  3. Diane says:

    I love that he has a coffee station in his room complete with sugar cubes. Now I want a coffee station in MY room complete with sugar cubes! ; )

  4. melinda says:

    the cabinet looks amazing, all of it the fab green, the milk glass, the Camilla…absolutely fabulous!

    oh, and Happy B Day to the Everrett, go caffiene loaded or go home…but now I’m fretting about an infestation of ants attacking his sugar cubes, beacuse that’s just the kind of gloom & doom pal I am…

  5. Ayama says:

    Remind me to distract you before you go snooping in my china cabinet, if that is what you think is a shambles…. Love the refit though. Happy Birthday Everett, enjoy your coffee station and keep questioning, everything. 😉 See you when you get back from your break. Curious about this new creative path that you could be treading.

  6. threesneakybugs says:

    Happy Birthday to E and to you! (you did all the hard work that day after all) I just read an article last night about how coffee is better for your teeth than pop or fruit juice. So looking at it that way, you’re a great mom!

    Loving all your creations. Every one. And that wonderful art & milk glass display as well.

  7. Wow, that was the same china cabinet. I vote YES on the doors.

    When I saw the baby photo, I would have sworn that it was going to be a photo of Baby Jackie. I can see a resemblance.

    He has a coffee station in his room??? Too funny. This isn’t the one with the white tux is it? That was another awesome gift. I even mentioned that to my sister recently. I just thought it was very cool. Anyway, I listen to a bike podcast from some hard core racer type dudes, and sometimes they’ll spend half the show talking about espresso machines and the best coffee. Funny. I guess guys really want to make sure they get the most high powered jolt of caffeine possible. Just to put an edge on the edge.

    I’m in L.A. this week visiting the young ‘uns. I waved at you when I flew over your house. Did you get my waving vibes?

  8. Patricia says:

    Happy birthday, Everett! I’m sure it would just embarass him if I admired that striking combination of white hair and dark eyes, so I just won’t go there. 😉

    If only I could refurbish my entire house just as you did that cabinet, I would be a happy, happy woman.

    I’m very impressed with all the work that you’ve been doing. I’m sure it’s led you to that inspirational place that you’re right at the brink of breaking through to. (Selfishly, I hope it involves writing and paper cutting.) Whatever form it takes, I know it will be brilliant.

  9. Happy Birthday to Everett!

    The doors, the cranes, the coffee sleeves and the papercut all look wonderful.

    I’m off to ponder which of my kids I will save in case of a tidal wave, just in case they decide to ask…

  10. maryanne says:

    He sounds a lot like my boy, who turned 15 this week .He got a bar fridge for his room-(not for alcohol, obviously), but he really likes the grownupness of his room being a kind of bedsit as well. For Christmas he got a water cooler.

  11. amyks says:

    Love those coffee sleeves.

  12. applecyder says:

    wait. so which of the three would you save?

    i am so curious about this change in creative direction but if i were to guess i would say it would involve that new camera.

    have a good break! and happy easter to you and your boys.

    molly

  13. Nancy says:

    What a cute picture. Who ever thought Everett would grow up have a coffee station in his room. Room service anyone? It’s been a long time since I’ve looked at any of Everett’s baby pic’s. He was (still is) such a good looking kid. I really like the cabinet makeover. Great fabric and color.

  14. jacquie says:

    a coffee station…boy after my own heart! i recognize that mobile…(cheers me daily) and those coffee sleeves (i’m so hip with mine!)

Leave a Reply

