Spring Favorites

best of the blues by you.

1.  You all!  Thank you for the supportive, ecouraging, and wise comments!  I’m slowly making my way to answering those emails,  it was important for me to hear those words.

2.  In light of my last post I’ve found some good articles on focus and creativity:  Art SlamHow to Do ThingsDumb Little Man

 Bench Monday by you.

3.  Bench Monday We’ve had about 1 day of sunshine in the last two weeks so bench monday has been like a ray of sunshine.

4.  White Chocolate Cherry Scones.  These will bring tears to your eyes, I’m not kidding!  The !%&*# Kitchen Fairy has to double the recipe to satisfy the crowd here.

  • 2 Cups flour
  • 1/3 Cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 Cup butter, chilled
  • 1/2 Cup heavy cream or half and half
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 6 oz. white chocolate chips
  • 1 Cup toasted, coarsely chopped walnuts
  • 1 Cup dried sweet cherries
  1. Preheat oven to 375  degrees.
  2. Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder & salt.
  3. Cut butter into 1/2″ cubes and cut them into the flour mixture, until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
  4. In small bowl mix together egg, cream & vanilla.
  5. Add cream mixture to flour mixture and knead until combined, knead in walnuts, white chocolate chips & cherries.
  6. With lightly floured hands pat into a 9″ circle.  Cut circle into 8 wedges.  Place close together on baking sheet, and bake for 15 minutes or til lightly golden. 

gray dress by you.

5.  This sweet little dress from Target.  I added the red crochet flower.

6.  Happy Tape link found via Knack.

7.  Rural Pearl‘s cut paper art.

8.  Some of the projects in handmade hello.  It was sitting on the shelf at the library, and I’ve already made the self-mailing note project by Darling Clementine.

9.  The first batch of lettuce from the garden – erm, there was only enough for one person, so I ate it all.  with a splash of olive oil, red wine vinegar, and some salt and pepper.  Yum!

10.  And school is out in two weeks – and all the kids shouted amen!!  Even the grown up stay at home kind of kids!!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Your kids get out of school in two weeks???????? Sooooooo not fair. I’ve got five. ………sigh………..

    Love the bench photo du jour. Did he think that one up or did you?

  2. Ayama says:

    What a fabulous list of things you are loving this spring. I miss eating fresh homegrown lettuce… Okay, you have added something else to my to do list. Hurrah for the end of the school year. Nothing like that feeling. Will try your amazing looking scone recipe on CT and Happy as well. Two things on my spring list are your photographs and your posts. 😀 Can’t believe that on Monday it will become my autumn list though…. Only 2 days and one night to go….

  3. Ayama says:

    Ps, Miss CT loved your bench photo. She looked at it and then told me that you needed a tickle… 😉 Aren’t kids great??

  4. Excellent post…I love it ! How yummy does that recipe look?!!
    You are so adorable on the bench Monday photo. So tiny and cute…I am jealous like crazy. What a cute outfit too.
    See the scone thing will make me gain 5 pounds just looking at it.

  5. amyks says:

    Glad that you are feeling better.

  6. Rachel says:

    Cute dress, the crochet flower really pops!

  7. applecyder says:

    i love watching you all on bench monday. and that target dress is excellent. i wonder if they have it in my store….

  8. My problem with the advice from Dumb Little Man is that I don’t believe that I am allowed by law to eliminate my kids, even if I do classify them as the biggest distractions…

    I’m not ready for school to end. I’m not ready for my son to finish Kindergarten and no longer have the most wonderful teacher in the world. I am also not ready for 24 hours a day entertaining of kids in the hottest months. It’s California – can’t we have the long break at winter time??

  9. simpledaisy says:

    Hi there…
    That dress from Target is super cute and I love the bench image!! Love your list of spring favorites!! Isn’t spring great…now if only it would get sunny and warm up here!!
    Take care~

  10. Nancy says:

    That recipe is haunting me…I need to make it SOON! And I love your dress. I bet it looks great on you!

Leave a Reply

