Disappearing Act

Contrary to appearances I did not bike off into the sunset never to appear again.  Thought about it……

The bike trip was delightful, three days – 110 miles, good food, great weather, the company of my best friend for life.  The Katy Trail has become a favorite of ours, and the small town of Rocheport as well.   Eventually I will have a few photos from the trip.  I took the Diana camera with me, so it’s the old fashioned process of finishing the roll of film and having it developed. 

As I get back into the swing of posting I’ll share my hyperbolic crocheted lichen.

lichen crochet by you.

lichen crochet by you.

This photo is the same piece of crochet I just boosted the color in Picnik.

hyperbolic crochet by you.

I have several recipes I want to share too.  I made these chili peanuts and I thought they were terrific, especially sitting on the patio with an ice cold beer.  The rest of the family was not all that impressed.  Please note that the children were not drinking ice cold beers.  Theirs were room temperature (kidding!!)  Here is the recipe – try it and see what you think.  (I left out the cayenne pepper to suit the family.)  I thought it was very clever of me to put them in little individual parchment paper cones like the picture from the recipe.  My family was not all that impressed with that either.  *sigh*

Chile Peanuts by you.

There has been so much going on lately.  So, I plan to make up for my absence.  Also I’m working on a few papercuts, and I’d love to make this handmade wrapping paper from A Little Hut.  And as much as it saddens me I am no longer able to respond to all the comments.  I will try to answer particular questions in the comments, and I will respond to personal emails.  I do read every single comment and appreciate the time you take to respond to something I’ve said, but I’ve been racking my brain as to how to have time to visit your blogs and flickrs and to also do my own posting.  So far this is the only solution that seems viable.

I will leave you with these incredible ottomans by Christien Meindertsma.  Which I first saw on Blue Moss.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. ellen kelley says:

    Oh, yum…lichen love and peanut passion here.
    I am sorry the family was ho-hum. It happens here, too.
    I put together the most gorgeous arrangement of my bird nests in a beautiful glass jar. My husband said, “That’s cute.”
    Cute????? I was quite miffed. It’s beautiful, definitely not cute.

    Glad you are back safe and sound. Your new banner or heading (what do you call them?) is lovely.

    hugs, e.

  2. MichelleB says:

    Those peanuts looks great! I’m so glad that you had a great time on your bide ride. It always helps to rejuvenate us a bit.

  3. It’s so great to hear back from you again. I was beginning to wonder if the Katy swallowed you whole. I also thought about your eldest proginy. I heard that some (local?) kids went on a trip to China and spent the entire trip in their hotel because of the fear of them spreading H1N1. I didn’t figure that France would do that. When I thought of those poor American kids in China, they had the face of Nate. Well, at least the males did.

    If you and the hubster want to branch out to another awesome trail, come do the C&O from Maryland to DC. 184 miles. We’ll put you up as needed…or not needed…we’ll still put you up.

    Love the lichen with the altered color. What a difference a little Piknik made. I havn’t messed around with the program much. Now I’m inspired.

    I’m all anxious to see the photos from the bike trip!!!

    jan

  4. simpledaisy says:

    wow…110 miles in three days!! How awesome!! I am to 20 miles on my long rides…long way to go if I am going to ride a century in september!! I just love biking..it’s so fun!!!
    I love those ottomans….super cute!

  5. Ooooooh yay, welcome back! I hope it was incredibly fun! You so, made both Don and I giggle when we read that bit about luke warm beer for the kids…heheh. You are so hilarious. Those treats will have to be made here in the Larson-Sullivan home…YUM! xo

  6. I love how your hyperbolic crochet becomes almost psychedelic when color-enhanced. Very intriguing!

    I also appreciate the care and love you show to peanuts. What is the point if we don’t make things as beautiful and appealing as we can? Oh, families, they don’t understand, do they?

  7. I don’t think that my husband would want to be 110 miles away from his computer game…

    He certainly wouldn’t appreciate parchment paper cones…

    And I’d never hear the end of it if I crocheted lichen.

    Still, that doesn’t stop me wanting to.

    I’m glad that you enjoyed your trip.

  8. Leslie says:

    I’ve never ridden that part of the Katy Trail but I have spent time in Rocheport. I assume you made it to the cute little antique shops there? You should bring your bike to K.C. and ride the trails here, too!

  9. katri says:

    Love the cushions – gorgeous colors! Have you seen either of these? http://www.baekdal.com/Design/Interior-Design/rock-cushions/ or http://www.baekdal.com/Design/Interior-Design/ronel-jordaan-real-rock-cushions/ so cool… I would love a room just filled with ellipsoidal cushions (not really spherical). Thanks for the summer tips post, too. School is almost out and I haven’t planned much. the idea being to spend time with the boys, have adventures, etc. nice lichen!

    peace, katri

  10. threesneakybugs says:

    Nice lichen! I (capital, bold & underlined) would have totally appreciated your peanuts and cone packages. Lastly, I need a set of 3 of those ottomans in my living room.

    PS Do not under any circumstances answer this comment. And more importantly do NOT feel guilty about it. Online life takes a lot of time and it’s impossible to respond/comment on it all.

Leave a Reply

