Hitched

wedding balloons by you.

A couple of weeks ago I attended a wedding.  All weddings are special, but this particular wedding had a little something extra built in.  I had never before met any of the people there.  I traveled 5 and 1/2 hours to go and witness a wedding of two people (very special people I might add) that I had never physically laid my eyes upon.  From the moment I arrived however I felt as if I did know them and had met them.  They were familiar to me somehow.  But let me back up a little.  Lea, the bride, and I became aquainted via Flickr – making comments on each other’s photos, and from there making comments on each other’s blogs.  This all started around March 2008.  Somehow we forged a connection, and the connection grew into actual handwritten letters and gifts being exchanged in the mail.  In fact I’ve probably recieved mail from her about every other week for the past 15 months.  One piece of mail was an invitation to her wedding.  Perhaps she only sent it to me as a courtesy, not thinking that I would actually attend her wedding.  But I knew I had to go and meet her in person, and meet Daniel (the groom) in person.  

DSC_0082_1016

I also met her PawPaw, her Aunt Carol, her niece and nephew, her dog, her bridesmaids, her sister – people I had heard about or seen pictures of.  I smiled when I arrived because I saw her mobiles hanging from the tent.  They looked just like the ones she had sent me.

wedding mobile by you.

butterfly mobile by you.

Happy, Happy life together Lea and Daniel!

DSC_0046_985

10 Comments Add yours

  1. jill says:

    that’s sweet! i’m going to one of those i-haven’t-met-you-but-i-know-you- from-online weddings in october and i’m excited!

  2. MichelleB says:

    Those wonderful connections are why we spend (so much) time doing this blogging thing.

  3. Marissa says:

    what a lovely friendship. The world is such a bigger place today isn’t it!

  4. molly says:

    rad! what a great story. and what a gorgeous bride. and amazing mobiles.

  5. Melinda says:

    awwwww! you went!
    I had been wondering…looks like a lovely time and a beautiful lovely couple!
    love the balloon pic too.

  6. Patricia says:

    What a loving story you’ve told, and it doesn’t surprise me at all that you two forged this rich connection, and that you were there to witness the solemnizing of a lifelong connection between Lea and Daniel. I wish them well!

  7. That is really beautiful in both photos and words! How neat is it that you got to meet each other on such a special occasion?! xo

  8. Leslie says:

    How cool! A real-life meet up for a very special occasion. I love it.

  9. Martha says:

    Thanks for sharing your fabulous photos and story of your adventure! OXO

  10. Lea says:

    Thank you for being you, and oh how i like you!

Leave a Reply

