Dutch Oven

For Father’s Day Brian got a Dutch oven.  The real deal, cast iron, heavy duty, 6 quart Dutch oven.  I’m certain we are going to be spoiled rotten with some campsite gourmet cooking now!  The best part – I’m not the cook!  The other night he decided to give it a trial run on the driveway.  Everyone got to vote on what we wanted and it was decided that he would make a pineapple upside down cake in it.  I realized later that the boys were all standing around in the driveway with bare feet, and although no one got burned I feel I should issue the following warning label.  It is not advisable to cook with burning hot coals without proper footwear.

DSC_0130_1426

DSC_0136_1431

DSC_0140_1435

DSC_0145_1440

DSC_0149_1444

DSC_0153_1448

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Jess says:

    I love my dutch oven.
    I haven’t ever used it camping, but it works great for stews and no knead bread in the kitchen.

  2. simplyblogged says:

    I love dutch oven cooking. Great buy.

  3. Leslie says:

    Wow, what fun! So were you able to turn it upside down or did you just scoop it from the oven as-is?

  4. mmmmmmm! yum! definitely look up no knead bread — it’s the only thing i use my dutch oven for.

  5. Patricia says:

    Wow! What an amazing texture that emerged. I bet it was yummy. And all you need are coals on the top of the lid to bake the cake?

  6. threesneakybugs says:

    But did it taste good? It looks like it did.

  7. I always eye those at REI. They seem so appealing. We don’t do much car camping, and I sure as heck am not backpacking that big hunk of iron into the woods. I guess I will have to live vacariously through your hubby. jan

  8. And don’t you wish that Mom’s everyday kitchen magic would draw such a crowd in awe of her creations?

  9. That looks like it would be fun to try out and that cake looks amazing…salivating here. A big green monster of jealousy just overtook me while looking at those photos. xoxo

Leave a Reply

