words.

lomography flare by you.

words. low-slung and heavily ponderous. like a papoose full of stones slung round the neck. slope-shouldered, spine curved into a ? mark.  words. slipping skyward on cloud mists and feathered wing. exultant. helium filled.  words. needle sharp and stinging. like the prickers of a nettle plant.  flint hard and serrated. as of a spear thrown from a long distance and landing with terrifying nearness.  words. flannel lined cocoon. a nest of languor and drowsiness. muffled quietude.

words.  it’s been a while since i’ve put my words here, but i’ve been leaving a blue-inked trail in other places.  letters, journaling, lists, sound bites, notes, writing in the margins.  so much so that my fingers have hard, knobby callouses.  i have only recently realized how important words are to me, and that i feel words in such a physical way.  they are 3 dimensional, have shape and form and color.  i’m guessing there is a term for this in the dictionary of crazy!  i’m speaking of words that rattle around in my head, cling to and flow among the crevices of my grey matter.  descriptions of descriptions, of descriptions.  and your words, they have seeped into the marrow of my bones as well.   

abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz – the seemingly infinite combination of those 26 letters – words.  callouses and blue-inked detritus.  it’s good to be back.

your word spillage welcome here.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. threesneakybugs says:

    Ah, what a wonderful way to come back too. What bounces around in your head is what ignites your passion. Let it out. I’m all ears.

  2. Great post! I am needing some soft ones lately. Life has a way of giving me the prickly ones in the real world, sometimes and it isn’t always so fun. xo

  3. Ayama says:

    beautifully said. i feel that way about words a lot. welcome back.

  4. ellen says:

    Yes, and yes and yes…words have such power, to be used for millions of reasons! I love your words and your intent. Take good care of those knuckled ink stained digits. Honor them and give thanks for the gifts that they give you and others….embrace that connectedness from head to hand.
    I find it impossible many times to connect my whirling thoughts to words, to tie them down (the thoughts) and to give good expressions to those thoughts………..not to mention respecting them, because I can often dismiss them as unimportant and insignificant. Words fall out of my mouth and clatter to the floor, a Scrabble game of unintelligible nonsense…..the hunt for something creditable…nailing jello to the wall………………
    xoxo M#2

  5. kristin says:

    amen.
    i guard my words
    censor
    WAY more than other things. why? i am never sure.
    i love those that are free with their thoughts their words their emotions in print. i strive to me more like that. more AUTHENTIC. it is hard.

  6. Patricia says:

    Amazing–you wield those words! And you have no idea how close this post is to something I’ve been working on for you this week. As always I am in awe of our telepathic friendship!

  7. Melinda says:

    Well, Hello YOU! Glad you’re back. Been missing you in many ways,..but life goes on and what yells the loudest gets the most attention, right? Maybe you should yell more? (At least as far as your interactions concerning me?…okay. yeah. right. goodbye.)

  8. Leslie says:

    Your words are thoughtful, meaningful…thanks for sharing them.

  9. I’m always so happy to see all your words here. I’m often wondering what you are finding yourself busy doing, so it is interesting to read the real deal. I guess there is an elephant carcass there and am anxiously awaiting the time he will be all gone.

    I’ve not been writing a lot lately either. Seems like I blog in spurts. Multiple posts in one day and then nothing for a week at a time.

    jan

  10. this is one of my most favorite posts. ever. beautiful, jackie. keep writing…

  11. P.P.S. Where on God’s green earth did you get that iPaddle shirt?????????? I heart it!!!

  12. batspit says:

    wonderful words about words… you’re getting all meta on me, and doing it in such a lilting linguistic lovely way!

Leave a Reply

