The gift of time.

DSC_0100_1901

A couple of weeks ago before school started back up this boy and I found ourselves home alone.  I had plenty of the usual chores that needed to be done, but instead I asked him if he wanted to go for a bike ride with me.  So that’s just what we did.  A bike ride with Nate means you get to be an Explorer of the World.  At least our little piece of the world.  We rode to the local 5 and dime and bought soda in glass bottles;  Stewart’s Key Lime for me and Frostie’s Concord Grape for him.  We then headed across the railroad tracks to a tiny, seldom used park.  

ladder by you.

We climbed up into this lookout and spent at least 30 minutes discussing tree houses.  and what features each of our tree houses would have.  Nate’s will have an underwater entrance, similar to a beaver’s dam, and it will also have a rope ladder that can be pulled up, and a locking hatch door.  Mine will have lot’s of windows, and be made of industrial type materials, like that sweet piece of steel in the lookout above. 

Hopping back on our bikes we took alleys, and rode around the more industrial, worn out part of town.

DSC_0031_1833

DSC_0059_1861

We ended up finding this abandoned warehouse, our new secret spot!  Walking around in the expansive emptiness and wondering why it’s no longer in use.  Well, besides the fact that half of the roof is gone.  I think we both felt a little thrill of trespassing here and wondering if/when someone would show up to kick us out.  I think I found a conduit to my own 11 year old self, and you know, I kind of miss the adventures of that time in life.  

DSC_0044_1846

DSC_0048_1850

abandoned. by you.

If the saying is true – that time is money – then I’d say that Nate and I had a million dollar afternoon!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Diane says:

    So. Great. I think we all need more 11-year-old adventures…

  2. okay…maybe I am emotional or something but you make my eyes well up with tears at what a wonderful mom you are! You are a wonderful example of being present and in the moment. You are one of the very few people I have known who seems consistently to live life in the now. I love it and I love having your blog to read to encourage me to do the same. xoxo

  3. threesneakybugs says:

    That sounds wonderful!!!! A perfect adventure. Now that Seth is going to a different school then Eleanor we will have a couple days yet this year just the 2 of us. I look forward to making them something akin to this.

  4. Melinda says:

    looks like a good time was had by all!

  5. Ayama says:

    i was looking at the photo of nate and marvelling at how much he has grown during the summer and since i became a regular lurker.

    what a great adventure you pair had. wow! hark, i hear a little sparrow up with all of nature’s… off to do some living in the now just like you.

    cheerio

  6. ellen says:

    You did have that million dollar afternoon….so special.

    p.s. love the photos..those colors are magnificent.

  7. I LOVE abandoned buildings. Growing up, we’d often go out to some abandoned homestead to pick up walnuts. Wandering around inside the ruins of the house, I remember seeing pianos, sheet music, furniture and dishes, all well rained on and spoiled. But it was all magical. Wish I had photos of them. I do have my memories though. Might make for an interesting painting some day.

    You and Nate sound like two peas in a pod. What a great way to spend a day.

    jan

    P.S. Is Nate the one who left the entertaining drawings in the hymnal?

  8. simpledaisy says:

    Oh I definitely miss the days of being 11 years old and having no rules in life!!
    Sounds like Nate has a wonderful mom:) What a great and simple way to spend a day! I think it’s the little things in life that really matter~

  9. batspit says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    Your banner photos are just plain ( ha ) awesome!

  10. brandi says:

    love love love that you and your boy go world exploring. 🙂

    and that shot of the chair…awesome! poignant and simple.

  11. a fabulous afternoon! we all need to find our inner 11-year olds more often. and gotta say, i am in love with your chair shot. yum.

  12. Patricia says:

    I think that you and Nate accomplished so much in one afternoon, much more than you could have done at home. Getting in touch with your inner 11-year-old explorer–that’s a true gift from your child.

Leave a Reply

