made. make.

DSC_0138_2059

Polaroid Birthday card made for me by Super Jen.  She takes some pretty incredible Polaroid shots.  I love the way her shadow is in there with those rockin’ chairs.  Not rocking chairs people – Rockin’ Chairs!  You know –  those Sick chairs!  Not sick, like sick throwing up, but Sick!!  Or as Marshall and his friends say Swique!  A combination of Sweet and Sick, and spelled awfully!

DSC_0146_2067

I’m also using all of those great adjectives to describe my birthday package from Lea!  Absolutely Swique!!  I’ve got to figure out if she silk screened those words, or stenciled them.  At any rate it seems to me the succinct version of this.  And I need succinct and to the point.  I don’t have the brain capacity these days.  I’m like a dog – just give me the short and authoritative command.  I also signed up for this e-course as a birthday present to myself.  I saw Maya’s review and headed straight over there to sign up.  Let’s hope I put it to good use.

And on the making front here’s what I’ve been up to.  Wool felt pencil case I made for Everett.  I was in a hurry so the sewing is a little sloppy, and he didn’t want the square and circle on there, but for the photo I put them on there because that’s how I would make it otherwise.  It has a little loop to hang in a 3 ring binder.

DSC_0060_1862

DSC_0063_1865

Some other little wool felt goodies – a paperweight or bean bag, and a little pouch for painted mushrooms.

felt mushroom pouch and beanbag

And some new papercuts.  I hope Molly won’t be looking, as I’m mailing this one to her today.  I’m just no good at keeping surprises to myself.  It was inspired by her photo.

childhood by you.

Childhood is not measured in the relentless ticking of the clock, nor in the turning of the calendar page. 
It is measured in moments of discovery, in laughter and tears, in racousness and quiet, in sunlight and shadows, and in the space between earth and sky.

And this wee papercut (4″ x 5″) was made using this downloadable pattern.

little papercut by you.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. happy happy birthday…..love all the fun birthday things 🙂

  2. love what you’ve been working on! your papercuts get awesomer and awesomer.

  3. Super envious of your Birthday treats and the course. Lucky girl. Happy Happy Birthday!! I am loving your work….that photo was a perfect inspiration for your papercut piece. It’s rockin’, sick and swique..(which I have to say that word’s spelling has the perfect French-esque feel to it…heheh);)
    xoxo

  4. kristin says:

    yipes! where does one start with a post so full of crafty goodness. well, i’ll start with happy (belated) birthday. your papercut for molly’s just makes my heart sing!! you’ve captured her photograph wonderfully.

  5. simpledaisy says:

    Happy Birthday:)
    I love all of your crafty goodness!!!
    Oh and I love your new header!
    Have a great week~

  6. kristin says:

    happy birthday!!!!
    that papercut you did for molly is SOOOOO wonderful. i think it is my fave if yours. it captures the magic childhood

    and i love those pinwheels so much. i must try and make some.

    XOXO jackie!
    ~kristin

  7. Melinda says:

    OH.WOW.

    Gosh, I miss you so much. I feel this as strong as any teenage angst? or maybe its the early evening wine?…nahh, its all of you and your ever lovin’ awesomeness

    Party on Garth. Party on Wayne.

  8. Happy birthday, Shuggar. I’m sorry that I missed it. = (

    I’m loving that green papercut. That’s a really nice design.

    How’s the studio coming?

    jj

  9. Patricia says:

    Awwww. Definite awe. Definitely awesome, all of it.

    I keep going back to admire that dazzling papercut. I love the perspective of it.

  10. threesneakybugs says:

    Wow, that’s all I can say. Wow.

  11. Leslie says:

    Amazing, all of it! I’m in love with the Polaroid birthday card (of course!) and all the wonderful things you’re making, too! I don’t know when you find time for all of this!

  12. Ayama says:

    thanks for sharing such wonderful made and make things. 😀

  13. Happy belated birthday! Those papercuts are amazing and I love the felt pencil case.

Leave a Reply

