conflict

DSC_0151_2071

you can’t make it through life without experiencing some conflict.  the question becomes are you going to use the friction that results from conflict to grind one another into dust, or to polish one another more brightly?  and that’s all i’m going to say about that.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Ah, you have to go and make me feel guilty – at the moment I feel more like grinding someone into the dust than doing polishing…

    I’m actually trying to work on maintaining grudges. I forget much too quickly and then they think it’s not a problem any more. It’s probably a good job that I don’t write therapy books, huh?

  2. MichelleB says:

    Wow. Very profound. I think I need to take that to heart.

  3. Jan says:

    Interesting perspective. I’ve never thought about it like that. I’m really awful with conflict. I avoid it like the plague, which usually means I hold a grudge and eventually explode. = ( Not good.

  4. Melinda says:

    oh.
    well, obviously I’m hoping for the “shine more brightly” option.
    good luck, you.
    sending positive “therapeutic sanding” vibes in your general direction…

  5. ellen says:

    This is going to sound very trite. In no way do I mean it to sound as such.
    The image that comes to my mind IS of rocks and perhaps beach glass. We are like that sometimes, grinding and pounding against each other in a river or sea of turmoil. ..but many times we eventually find a calm, safe and stillish pool; a place of peace (not at all stagnant) where we are polished and quieter and with an awareness and appreciation of the beauty and differences we radiate.
    Sending love and care.

  6. simpledaisy says:

    What a great way to think about things:) I am not sure I could always be that kind of person! But I do think you can’t hold grudges and sometimes you just have to accept people for who they are and accept that sometimes you might not want certain people in your life~

  7. knack says:

    perfect my friend……and I had to giggle at melinda’s comment above about sending therapeutic sanding vibes your way….too cute:)

    xoxo

  8. molly says:

    i suppose it depends on the source of friction. we recently did an experiment in our math and science group to measure friction. we had kids sit on a block of ice and then a cinder block, and we measured the force in pounds it took to drag them on grass, cement and wood. the exercise was called “friction is a drag”. so whether or not you grind one another to bits or polish one another to brilliance, friction is a drag.

    i just received my papercut and OH MY GOODNESS!!! incredible. i might just have to steal your image from flickr because i want to show it off! you even inspired me to try my hand at a small paper cut. i’ll have to share my results, but next to yours, it is very rudimentary! thank you thank you thank you!

  9. Leslie says:

    Wow, you’re thinking some deep thoughts here! I hope for polishing but I know it doesn’t always turn out that way.

  10. whew! that’s one to think about. i’m generally prickly. and i stay prickly. hope things turn out ok!

  11. Patricia says:

    I’m with Jan–I usually run the other way from conflict. I’m trying to be brave, though, and stick up for myself, but in a non-conflictual way. Not easy. If you manage to find your way through the conflict without running away or grinding the other person to dust, then it’s the pure happy polishing everyone gets. Luckily we have so many chances in our daily lives to practice that polishing!

  12. Ayama says:

    smooth we are on the same wave length. thank you for the food for thought.

Leave a Reply

