the studio

DSC_0005_2214

Here it is!  I have some tweaking to do – painting the rocking chairs and sewing up some seat cushions for them, maybe a rug for the winter months, finishing the chalkboard paint on the stairs, repainting the old dressers that I’ll be using for storage,  finding a cheap bookcase for all of my books and magazines, putting my sewing machine at one of the workspace stations, and filling up my inspiration wall behind the workspace.  The small table by the window is set up with a fabric cutting mat, and I’ll store my wool and wool felt in the cedar chest below it.  I’ll actually be moving an old library card catalog to the space between the rocking chairs to hold nature treasures in. 

DSC_0002_2211

DSC_0003_2212

 So, that’s the progress so far.  When it’s all finished I will post pictures again.

On a very somber note I think every parent should read this article.  I will warn you ahead of time it was written by Susan Klebold, the mother of  Dylan Klebold one of the Columbine killers.   It is painful, heart wrenching, thought-provoking, and filled with one mother’s humble cries.  I can’t imagine.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. so impressed with your studio space…
    (will look at that article but I am a compassionate sort, so it is probably going to make me a mess for the rest of today)
    xoxo

  2. simpledaisy says:

    What a fabulous studio space!! yeah for you!! 🙂
    I haven’t read the article but I will…
    I really can’t even imagine either~

  3. That poor woman. I don’t want there to ever be a day when I can not read every emotion that my kids are going through as clear as day.

    Your studio looks wonderful. Hmm, maybe we don’t need a living room…

  4. leaca says:

    that is gorgeous….I want it!!!

  5. threesneakybugs says:

    Looking good! All that space, just for you and your creativity. Puts a big smile on my face.

  6. omg, omg, omg! i love your space! and the blue bench is there! and you’re getting an old library card catalog? i’m jealous. i’m so happy for you!

  7. WHOA!!!!!!! That is amazing, Jackie!!!!!!! It is absolutely gorgeous. I am going to show that to Mark right away and lobby for a remodel of Snippyville. Congratulations. It looks like a space I’d love to spend hours in. jan

  8. Melinda says:

    *gasp*
    oh. my.
    *sigh*

    wow.
    I am sooooo happy for you and your amazingly groovy space!!!
    It’s wonderful, perfect, just right, and it’s totally you.
    I’m just grinning this huge big goofy grin for you right now!
    So there.

    Now, off to read the article. I have a feeling I will weep.
    But sometimes its necessary?

  9. Leslie says:

    What a gorgeous, spacious studio! Looks like a great place to hang out–and I love that the blue bench has a place of honor!

  10. Ayama says:

    wow i love what you have done with your creative space and look forward to updates. it is so sweet. now off to read that article….

Leave a Reply

